We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, wonderful, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel) (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Clermont, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, wonderful, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, luxurious, but also cozy. It's in a great location (and a Starbucks is across the street!). The service is incredibly prompt, courteous, and sincere. The concierge, Lida, was particularly wonderful; our kids loved checking in with her to tell her about our adventures.

Our room was large and cozy. The large, heavy drapes seemed overwhelming. When we opened the windows we discovered that they were hiding the rear of several buildings, vents, and a rickety old shack. Thank goodness we were a few floors up, so it was easily overlooked. During our stay, I heard several people complain about their "view". We did not spend much time in our room, so it didn't matter to us. If it matters to you, make sure you request a street view.

We took a cab to the monuments and walked back to the hotel. The cab was cheaper than taking the metro. Everything is within walking distance, but it is several blocks. Wear comfortable shoes. The daily parking fee is extremely reasonable. It's best to leave your car in hotel garage.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. However, we left something in the room and they could not locate it when we tried to retrieve it. The item was unimportant, but for a hotel with excellent service, I was surprised we didn't get it back.

I would recommend this hotel, as long as you have a big travel budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view, if you don't want to look out over a back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the St. Regis Washington DC! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our “beautiful, luxurious” property and the “prompt, courteous and sincere service” provided by our extraordinary St. Regis team! I am delighted that our Chef Concierge Lida was able to enrich your family’s experience as well. We are proud to have the finest staff of any hotel in Washington, DC. I hope that you choose the St. Regis on your future trips to Washington DC.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    171
    97
    24
    19
See reviews for
184
256
57
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had our daughter's wedding at the St Regis in DC over St Pat's weekend - FANTASTIC place and staff!!!
Did the planning long-distance and everything down to the smallest detail was "spot-on", nothing was missed. Alicia and Hector are the best!
From the monment we arrived on Friday until we left on Monday we were treated like family. I can't imagine that there is a better Bellmen staff, especially Caleb, in DC. They took special care to ensure our needs (cars, buses, luggage...) were taken care of.
Highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a place to have an elegant wedding and be treated special. There Guys Are Good!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted your daughter’s wedding was a fantastic success. Our team is dedicated to creating wonderful experiences for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W.8.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A perfect location from which to sally forth and explore the mighty capital. You can walk to almost everywhere. But what makes this place is the courtesy and kindness of all the staff (bar one bolshy old boy in the restaurant). Reception was excellent and the concierges were outstandingly helpful. The very comfortable room came with a 'butler' in attendance - in our case a very large lady tricked out in a tailcoat and white tie - absolutely absurd but so kitsch and she was so charming that we could only be bewitched. We loved staying in this hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are delighted that our team made sure you had a wonderful visit. We look forward to your return visit very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I don't know where to start - I feel like after reading the other reviews, some of those people stayed in a different hotel. The doorman ran to greet us as we rolled up outside, we were quickly given our room key at the front desk and fully welcomed. We were very pleased with our room - music was playing - 2 robes were available, water pressure actually so hard, I had to lower it, and very easy access into and out of the shower. The bed was super soft and large, and our room was very sound proof to the hallway noises. We had staff check on us a few times and actually, because we were running a race that weekend, surprised us with Powerbars, grapes and extra waters for the weekend. The staff always greeted us as we passed in the hallways, and the concierge was very helpful with restaurant, transportation and museum recommendations. There was coffee and many different newspapers - 1 at our door every morning, and several in the lobby, and at lunch time, cookies and lemonade. We requested and received our flight check in and ticket confirmations printed out for us. We were very casually dressed as we were there for a marathon and didn't bring dressy clothes, but were never made to feel that this was frowned upon. I hope my review makes it perfectly clear that we would highly recommend this hotel, it's staff, location, and room quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We completely agree with you, some reviews seem as if the person stayed at a different hotel. We are honored that you recommend our property to anyone that reads your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic central location, particularly for the leisure traveler and the property is an elegant classical and historical building. The public areas look very well maintained but the room we stayed in was in need of attention and it was terrible to have an office block literally looking in on the room. In general the operational side of the hotel is fine because it is relatively efficient, however it lacks warmth and personal guest attention and experience, Very pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable concierge however, particularly with the kids and the scavenger hunt that he offered to them. Overall a pleasant stay but I did expect better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that your family completed the St. Regis Scavenger Hunt that was designed by our award winning Concierge team. We hope that we may have another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a few weeks as a result of a business trip in Washington D.C. It's not bad, but I didn't find it to have the same standard of St. Regis hotels elsewhere.

Location:
The hotel is well located for proximity to major government buildings, but I found it to be a bit far from things if you visit as a tourist. For example, it's close to the Mall and many museums, but most of the restaurants surrounding the hotel close early, and the ones that remain are not thrilling. The lobby is not impressive.

Rooms:
The base rooms are quite small. I was upgraded, and although my room was large, it was dark and overlooked an air conditioning unit. The rooms are decorated in colonial style, which I've never found appealing. There are no treats given during turndown service, which I found odd but healthy.

Service:
I wasn't thrilled. The concierges tended to be a bit rude and not terribly helpful. The front desk staff was nice, but I had to ask for an iron three times and lodge a complaint before they finally delivered it. (I asked for the iron once each day for three days, so it wasn't a matter of impatience.)

Food:
The only truly outstanding thing about the hotel was room service. I ordered a simple but off-menu item every night (chicken and steamed veggies). The prices they charged for the same dish varied wildly, but the food was very good.

Gym:
For a supposedly posh hotel, the gym was TERRIBLE. Hands down the worst I've seen. It's extremely small but often used, so it feels a bit crowded. Surprisingly, there are none of the free weights, physio balls, or mats that are common in hotel gyms. It's just as well given there was not actual room provided for stretching. Awful. Truly awful.

If you are on an expense account and want the SPG points, you could do worse than booking here. On the other hand, I would assume (hope?) that DC has better hotels to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review. We will take immediate action to address the service issues you raised. We certainly appreciate all the information you provided and it will certainly allow us to improve our service. Thank you again for the information, we look forward to exceeding all of your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in February. When we arrived were given a room without a bath tub, though I'd emailed to request a tub and had received a reply which implied the request would be met. When I phoned to ask about the tub we were moved to a room with a tub that happened to be much nicer. This was a lifesaver since the first room felt small and cramped. The TV was not opposite the bed, so watching it would have been awkward, and there was an old dinged up dresser in the closet. It felt shabby for what we were paying for it. The second room was nicer in every way, including the decor, though I'm still not sure I'd have wanted to pay the sticker price for it.

After the move, my only (minor) complaint is that housekeeping tended to take things away without replacing them. On our first night, we showered before dinner, and then while we were out, housekeeping took our towels without replacing them. The next morning we had to call for new ones. We were given a whole pile of them, but sure enough, they kept disappearing over the next couple of days until we were down to two -- just enough to finish out our stay.

We also discovered that housekeeping had taken away our dirty coffee cups. The next time we made coffee, we drank it out of glasses and assumed that the sight of the glasses with coffee dregs in them would prompt housekeeping to bring new coffee cups. It didn't.

Finally, the shower gel disappeared.

In short, if you manage to get an upgrade or have some kind of discount, this is a pleasant place to stay, though you may have to keep phoning to ask for things. But if you're paying full price, you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing a detailed review of our hotel. I am very sorry about the housekeeping concerns you raised. There should have been more attention to details when our room attendant serviced your room. The configurations of our rooms do vary. Not all of our rooms have soaking tubs, but we do our best to honor guest requests for rooms with bath tubs. I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed all of your expectations in the future. Once again thank you for all the information you provided. We do strive to improve our service every day. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.