We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 4 diamond property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel) (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful 4 diamond property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I am writing this review based on the property's 4 diamond rating. It is not a 5 diamond property like many other St Regis and there is certainly a difference.

The building itself is beautiful and just two blocks from the white house. The lobby is small but stunning with fresh flowers and good seating. They were renovating the bar when we were there in December so they had moved the bar to the lobby. No problem.

The rooms are nice. We had a superior King and a deluxe double connecting rooms. Both rooms were spacious and clean and the beds comfortable. Rooms were facing the street so a nice view. There were no newspaper on our door in the morning but several different papers in the lobby that we grabbed. I am sure we could have requested paper on the door. There were robes in the rooms but no slippers. A quick phone call to guest service and slippers were delived to our room. The rooms had DvD players. We went to the concierge to get a dvd for the children. Unfortunately she only had a couple to chose from.

We traveled with 3 young children who wondered why there was no chocolate on the pillow? This St Regis doesnt really have any of the special touched you find other places.
There is a gym and a great restaurant on site. Starbucks is across the street and was a great breakfast option with kids before heading down to the mall.

Service here is fabulous. All requests were met and in a very timely matter. They will get you what you need.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments. We pride ourselves on our service though our historic location does not allow us the space to include certain requirements of five diamond properties such as a spa and multiple dining outlets. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    146
    86
    21
    16
See reviews for
166
224
54
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Location is the only positive comment about this property. The hide a bed in the room was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever experienced. It took four requests before they brought a bed board. Another multiple reminders for our morning paper, which never made it during our six day stay. They never provided enough bath towels, even after several requests. Finally, the staff was less than friendly. We never felt as if they cared about us. Would not recommend this property. Last year we stayed at the Four Seasons in Georgetown. That is where we will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for your experience while staying as our guest. I would like to speak with you directly regarding your experience. Please contact me at your convenience at ammar.samad@stregis.com or 202-580-6784. Your feedback is appreciated as we are always striving to provide the best service to our guests.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The St Regis DC is nice and upscale but it's not updated like many of their other properties. I am an SPG Gold Member and had booked a suite and an ajoining King on 12/23 for two nights. We arrived at 2:20 and our rooms weren't ready and there was no upgrade (does anybody ever get these SPG Gold upgrades). I was in shock that the rooms weren't ready because I am a Gold member, so we plopped down with our kid in the lobby and waited until 2:55 when they decided to hand us our keys. The room was nice, but not too big. The bathroom was modern and updated. We ate breakfast at the gorgeous restaurant on Christmas day and it was amazing - great food and service. We plan to go back to DC next year, but are not 100% sold on the St Regis property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback. Our hotel was renovated at the beginning of 2008 and was updated with modern amenities throughout. However, I do apologize that they were not up to your standards. Rooms are guaranteed for check in at 3:00pm though we do try our best to accommodate early check-ins. With that being said we do not want to sacrifice our standards of cleanliness and need an adequate amount of time to service and inspect each room after checkout at 12:00pm. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Washington.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I came to DC for an impromptu mother daughter weekend, and it was both of our first times in DC. From the moment my mom and I first walked into the hotel we were impressed, and the location really can't be beat. Given that it is the holidays and since the trip was last minute we weren't sure if we would be able to get a reservation at any restaurant last minute. Luckily, Alex at the concierge desk was there to help! He recommended Fiola for dinner and even though the restaurant was fully booked he managed to get us a reservation. While he was on the phone with the restaurant he overheard my mom and I talking about wanting to sight see, and no sooner had he booked our dinner, he had out a map and was telling us what we absolutely should not miss while we were in town. Not only did we have a fabulous day touring DC thanks to him, but we had an amazing meal that evening. Alex truly made our trip unforgettable and we will be talking about our stay at the St Regis for a long time to come. We can't wait to plan our next mother daughter trip to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your mother back to the St. Regis upon your next visit to Washington, D.C.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

did a staycation for Christmas Eve at the St. Regis -- stayed in a metropolitan suite (corner with lots of windows and two views). The decor was classic, but a little more old-school than the Four Seasons standard -- heavy fabrics and patterns, but not stodgy; very comfortable, but elegant. Great shower - big space. Standard sized separate tub under the picture window. Service was impeccable -- room service was delivered within 15 minutes, served hot, and presented as if we were in the restaurant. For tourism, it's just two blocks from the Pennsylvania Ave entrance to the White House, right on 16th. Staff was very accomodating -- late check-out was greeted with a pleasant "yes"; porters and room-service staff were friendly without fawning.

For my first experience, it may well supplant the Four Seasons in Georgetown as my favorite in the district; it's certainly on par. I still like the Four Seasons for its lap pool -- the only indoor hotel lap pool that I know of in DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the St. Regis for 4 night over the Christmas holiday. First the good.The hotel is in a great location, right up from the White House. The rooms are quiet and the beds are very comfortable. The doormen were very nice. Now the bad. The hotel just misses the mark on so many small things. First, there are no irons/ironing boards in the rooms. Who wants to wait for housekeeping when you want to iron pants at the last minute? The two rooms we stayed in did not have bathtubs. Again, for a hotel of this caliber not to have tubs seems ridiculous. Of course, there were no coffee makers in the rooms ( how about a keurig!!) and unless you went to the lobby really early, there was no coffee there either. Room service was prompt with the coffee, but it is silly to have to order a whole pot for just two cups of coffee. For some reason, some guests got the morning paper, but we did not. This seems just darn cheap!!! There really aren't any closets, rather there is a wardrobe that is not all that big. The bathrooms have make up mirrors, but the lighting is so bad, they are practically useless. There is a TV in the bathroom mirror which is very high tech, except that you can't see the picture very well when the lights are on. There are many better options in DC than the St. Regis. I was very sorry it was so disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback so that we are able to improve upon our service and amenities. Rooms with bathtubs are available upon request as unfortunately due to space restrictions we are not able to have bathtubs in every room. In addition, ironing boards as well as coffee makers are available upon request and are brought to the room promptly by our St. Regis Butlers. I apologize that you did not receive the newspaper during the morning of your stay and will follow up with Housekeeping to ensure consistency of this service to all of our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly regarding your stay with us at ammar.samad@stregis.com or (202)580-6784.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and I traveled to DC and stayed at the beautiful St. Regis Washington. We didn't plan out our travel itinerary, but Jair at the Concierge desk was so very helpful. We were worried we wouldn't get a reservation at a really nice restaurant or find fun things to do for both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Fortunately, Jair came through and we were pleasantly surprised. We understood that most of the museums were going to be closed on Christmas Day, but he recommended the Botanical garden, which was open. My kids really enjoyed the railroad.
Regarding the hotel itself, the room was very very cozy -- a little on the smaller side, but nicely decorated. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant, Adour. The service was great and the breakfast was paid with our breakfast vouchers.

We look forward to the final outcome of the new bar the next time we visit.

Overall, great location and attentive and helpful staff. The scavenger hunt for the kids was definitely a winner. Wish they had a spa and a bigger gym. We'll be definitely back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear of your experience with the concierge throughout your stay with us. Please think of us the next time you and your family come to Washington, D.C.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.