We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale but not updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel) (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Upscale but not updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The St Regis DC is nice and upscale but it's not updated like many of their other properties. I am an SPG Gold Member and had booked a suite and an ajoining King on 12/23 for two nights. We arrived at 2:20 and our rooms weren't ready and there was no upgrade (does anybody ever get these SPG Gold upgrades). I was in shock that the rooms weren't ready because I am a Gold member, so we plopped down with our kid in the lobby and waited until 2:55 when they decided to hand us our keys. The room was nice, but not too big. The bathroom was modern and updated. We ate breakfast at the gorgeous restaurant on Christmas day and it was amazing - great food and service. We plan to go back to DC next year, but are not 100% sold on the St Regis property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback. Our hotel was renovated at the beginning of 2008 and was updated with modern amenities throughout. However, I do apologize that they were not up to your standards. Rooms are guaranteed for check in at 3:00pm though we do try our best to accommodate early check-ins. With that being said we do not want to sacrifice our standards of cleanliness and need an adequate amount of time to service and inspect each room after checkout at 12:00pm. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Washington.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    167
    96
    24
    19
See reviews for
179
251
57
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I came to DC for an impromptu mother daughter weekend, and it was both of our first times in DC. From the moment my mom and I first walked into the hotel we were impressed, and the location really can't be beat. Given that it is the holidays and since the trip was last minute we weren't sure if we would be able to get a reservation at any restaurant last minute. Luckily, Alex at the concierge desk was there to help! He recommended Fiola for dinner and even though the restaurant was fully booked he managed to get us a reservation. While he was on the phone with the restaurant he overheard my mom and I talking about wanting to sight see, and no sooner had he booked our dinner, he had out a map and was telling us what we absolutely should not miss while we were in town. Not only did we have a fabulous day touring DC thanks to him, but we had an amazing meal that evening. Alex truly made our trip unforgettable and we will be talking about our stay at the St Regis for a long time to come. We can't wait to plan our next mother daughter trip to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your mother back to the St. Regis upon your next visit to Washington, D.C.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

did a staycation for Christmas Eve at the St. Regis -- stayed in a metropolitan suite (corner with lots of windows and two views). The decor was classic, but a little more old-school than the Four Seasons standard -- heavy fabrics and patterns, but not stodgy; very comfortable, but elegant. Great shower - big space. Standard sized separate tub under the picture window. Service was impeccable -- room service was delivered within 15 minutes, served hot, and presented as if we were in the restaurant. For tourism, it's just two blocks from the Pennsylvania Ave entrance to the White House, right on 16th. Staff was very accomodating -- late check-out was greeted with a pleasant "yes"; porters and room-service staff were friendly without fawning.

For my first experience, it may well supplant the Four Seasons in Georgetown as my favorite in the district; it's certainly on par. I still like the Four Seasons for its lap pool -- the only indoor hotel lap pool that I know of in DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the St. Regis for 4 night over the Christmas holiday. First the good.The hotel is in a great location, right up from the White House. The rooms are quiet and the beds are very comfortable. The doormen were very nice. Now the bad. The hotel just misses the mark on so many small things. First, there are no irons/ironing boards in the rooms. Who wants to wait for housekeeping when you want to iron pants at the last minute? The two rooms we stayed in did not have bathtubs. Again, for a hotel of this caliber not to have tubs seems ridiculous. Of course, there were no coffee makers in the rooms ( how about a keurig!!) and unless you went to the lobby really early, there was no coffee there either. Room service was prompt with the coffee, but it is silly to have to order a whole pot for just two cups of coffee. For some reason, some guests got the morning paper, but we did not. This seems just darn cheap!!! There really aren't any closets, rather there is a wardrobe that is not all that big. The bathrooms have make up mirrors, but the lighting is so bad, they are practically useless. There is a TV in the bathroom mirror which is very high tech, except that you can't see the picture very well when the lights are on. There are many better options in DC than the St. Regis. I was very sorry it was so disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback so that we are able to improve upon our service and amenities. Rooms with bathtubs are available upon request as unfortunately due to space restrictions we are not able to have bathtubs in every room. In addition, ironing boards as well as coffee makers are available upon request and are brought to the room promptly by our St. Regis Butlers. I apologize that you did not receive the newspaper during the morning of your stay and will follow up with Housekeeping to ensure consistency of this service to all of our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly regarding your stay with us at ammar.samad@stregis.com or (202)580-6784.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and I traveled to DC and stayed at the beautiful St. Regis Washington. We didn't plan out our travel itinerary, but Jair at the Concierge desk was so very helpful. We were worried we wouldn't get a reservation at a really nice restaurant or find fun things to do for both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Fortunately, Jair came through and we were pleasantly surprised. We understood that most of the museums were going to be closed on Christmas Day, but he recommended the Botanical garden, which was open. My kids really enjoyed the railroad.
Regarding the hotel itself, the room was very very cozy -- a little on the smaller side, but nicely decorated. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant, Adour. The service was great and the breakfast was paid with our breakfast vouchers.

We look forward to the final outcome of the new bar the next time we visit.

Overall, great location and attentive and helpful staff. The scavenger hunt for the kids was definitely a winner. Wish they had a spa and a bigger gym. We'll be definitely back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear of your experience with the concierge throughout your stay with us. Please think of us the next time you and your family come to Washington, D.C.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Arrived for just a night, and was warmly welcomed out front, and then again by the Front Desk. The room was wonderful (obviously clean, tidy, modern, etc.) - possibly a bit small, but not at all something to complain about.

Alex, the Concierge, was especially fantastic - extremely helpful and genuinely caring. He went above and beyond for us..champagne in the room before dinner and recommendations perfect for the night ahead (a wonderful French restaurant followed by drinks at a jazz club!).

Highly recommend this!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Over the past few years a lot of people I know through work have stayed at the St. Regis and always given it high marks. I thought it seemed a little stuffy for my taste but I couldn't have been more wrong. At first glance the room seemed a bit on the small side, but it was actually set up well, with more than enough room to work at the desk, lounge on the couch or stretch out on the bed, which was ridiculously comfortable. There was a nice view, too. The staff was courteous, helpful and very professional - Alvin at the bar has been at the St. Regis for 33 years and had a lot of interesting stories about DC. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the St. Regis service we are known for. Please keep us in mind upon your return to Washington, D.C.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.