We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional elegance, friendly staff, well located, but..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel) (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
New York, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Traditional elegance, friendly staff, well located, but..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were fortunate thru Amex Centurian to get suite upgrade and other perks. Stunning lobby, friendly and experienced front door and lobby staff, efficient check-in, pleasant conciege. Very prompt room service for coffee and meals. Phone requests handled quickly and efficiently, too. Well situated close to the White House, many dinner options within walking distance nearby. Did not eat at hotel's restaurant this trip. Disappointing small lower level fitness room but conciege gives free passes to full service gym across the street, nice for gym goers like me. My pet peeve at higher end hotels : ( this one no exception ) I do not know why hotel bathroom planners are so short sighted as to not to provide towel bars and hooks in reno'ed hotel baths. True the bath was big with separate tub and big shower and water closet with door, 2 sinks and high counter, but can't hotels provide a place for a man to hang his toiletry bag ? And why is the light so awful I can barely see to shave ? Forget the gimmicky in the mirror TV give me glowing mirror lighting so I can see, definitely poor hotel planning. I would stay here again when in DC. Other St. Regis provide lobby coffee this one does not, no big deal. High end hotel without the pretense.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    146
    86
    21
    16
See reviews for
166
224
54
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rainmaker77
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

First it starts with a simple request, might we check in early because of a meeting that afternoon...with the desk personnel happily accommodating with enthusiasm. The room of course is spotless..and a fast response to a need for a quick ironing of a shirt also sets the stage for what promises to be a good few days. (And it was returned with a smile)

Comfortable bed, and a killer shower for the tired muscles...so who cares the view of a typical inter-city view with some blocked walls.

Meals and a quick coffee/dessert one evening were pleasing to both the palate and senses. Wonderful service.

The bonus is not only location but the friendly bell hops, doormen and concierge when it came to taxis, reservations, and directions for various sites to see.

Wonderfully managed facility and staff

Room Tip: We got the feeling early reservations will dictate room choice...and price point levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. Please visit us again the next time you are in Washington D.C.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip to DC. Had a beautiful room that was quiet and comfortable. Was treated well by the friendly staff who was always ready to answer my questions and point us in the right direction. The location is great as the White House is a short walk away and close to many of the other DC sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Good location . Room was nice but small, the Adour restaurant was ok nothing special ...the breakfast was ok I had corn beef hash with eggs over easy , my wife had frenchtoast , she's had better ....the decor of the lobby was beautiful ...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The St. Regis the next time you are in DC.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its great location. It's within "safe" waking distance of a lot of sights and offices, including many great restaurants. Upon check in, our room had a soiled Q-tip on the floor, in the bedroom, and there were (2) light bulbs burned out in the bathroom. They did replace (1) light bulb. Hotel parking is quite expensive ($49/day). The hotel's public space decor has no coherence from room to room. The restaurant menu is modest; however, the food is good. I will not return nor will I recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you were able to experience the sights within close distance of the hotel. However, I sincerely apologize for the unacceptable state of your room at check-in. I will be sure to follow up with housekeeping immediately. Please feel free to contact me at 202. 580-6784 or ammar.samad@stregis.com in order to discuss your stay further.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This summer I had the opportunity to stay at the St. Regis. I lost electricity to my home during a storm and as a native Washingtonian, it turned out to be a treat to stay at a ‘local’ hotel, the St. Regis. The Front Desk Manager, Norberto Mendez, could not have been more sympathetic to our situation nor more helpful. He made us feel as if we were “at home”. Thank you for making a bad situation into a pleasant memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the legendary St. Regis experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently took a quick trip to DC with another couple and chose the St. Regis. I am a SPG who spends 70 or more nights a year in their hotels. We were greeted by a very friendly sent of doormen, who were friendly, attentive and very helpful throughout out stay. The front desk staff, at check in was also friendly and attentive. I was told at checkin that we had been upgraded to a suite, so... for $325 a night we stayed in a spacious suite with a sitting room that is bigger than most hotel rooms in DC. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable... but, more importantly, quiet. Our room looked out on both 16th street and K Street. We used the concierge every day... and sometimes, three times a day and they were all very helpful in assisting us with a very ambitious schedule. We will return. BTW, don't be childish and complain about high-price mini bar stuff... it makes you look both cheap and stupid. There is a Starbucks across the street and a CVS around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you are a loyal Starwood guest. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in Washington D.C. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.