We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful day out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Zoological Park

National Zoological Park
3000 Block of Connecticut Ave., Washington DC, DC 20008
202 633 4800
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Zoological Park like an insider
Top Rated
$39*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #51 of 472 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A park-like zoo containing 4,000 animals and 500 different species.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a wonderful day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Myself, wife and 7yr old had a wonderful day at the zoo,one of the best we have visited.We arrived by Metro and walked down the hill from the Cleveland park stop.The Animal houses open at 10am,but we walked in at 9am and saw Giant Pandas,Fishing Cats,Elephants and many other animals all out in their enclosures before the crowds arrived.

The park had a lot of tree cover for shade which was usefull on a red hot day.Another great help was the frequent misting stations situated around the park they really helped cool you down.
The gift center stores also had a great range of merchandise in them.

As for the much talked about hill that the zoo is situated on we found it to be more of a gentle slope.A five star day out to a five star zoo.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    509
    237
    75
    61
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great zoo and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Loved this zoo! The cleanest zoo ( or park) I have ever visited. Went with three kids- four, six, and twelve- by myself. No problem. We spent four hours there and could have spent more! Get there early to avoid crowds and see all the animals. It gets a little crowded as the day goes on (we went on a Monday). Also bring water (food isn't that expensive, but drinks are). Also print the map on their website and avoid paying $2 per map. I brought four copies (one for everybody). Lots of walking so bring comfortable shoes. Our favorite things: Amazon enclosure, elephants, tigers, and the invertebrate house. Everyone had a favorite part. Overall, a great experience, great for kids

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Disappointed but maybe it was just the day we went”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We visited the zoo on a Thursday and arrived around 11:30. We were expecting to be able to park in one of the zoo lots, but they were all full, so we exited and parked along the street. Luckily we didn't have to walk too far, but it was a little hike. Also, the parking along the street is 2 hour only. Since we took our toddler daughter we weren't planning to stay too long, so the timing worked out okay, but for someone planning to visit for several hours or more, this could be a problem. Would recommend arriving early or reserving a parking space to those wanting to spend a long day there.

We understood the elephant trail was under construction, but were disappointed in the variety of animals we saw. Many of the animals were nowhere to be found. Again, we understood that not all animals would be present at all hours of the day, but it seemed we kept walking from exhibit to exhibit without being able to spot any animals.

To be able to enter with no admission, I feel we shouldn't complain. It's definitely a nice place to spend a few hours with children. We will likely go back, but are hopeful that next time we will be able to see more animals.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“National Zoo in DC is awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Love, love, love this Zoo! Over 4,000 animals and 200 species on beautiful grounds and it's FREE! Truly this is a national treasure. Favorites were the lions and of course the pandas. Exciting renovation coming for elephants and other species not currently there. In this day and age a place like this that costs public nothing is a gem. Became a FONZ Member (Friend of National Zoo) today to help support.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lots of Animals, Good Learning Experience, and FREE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

There are lots of different animals at the National Zoo. Additionally, the indoor exhibits & hands-on activities for kids. Wear comfortable shoes and make sure you have water. We were surprised how clean the zoo was compared to other zoos we have visited. Surprisingly, the restrooms are also very clean. The food at the restaurants is moderately priced. The gift shops offered a variety of souvenirs and merchandise which was also reasonably priced. The employees are friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Zoological Park also viewed

 

Been to National Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Zoological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.