We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Portrait Gallery

National Portrait Gallery
F Street NW, Smithsonian Institution, Washington DC, DC 20560 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 357 2700
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$39*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #12 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can view the portraits of all the U.S. presidents.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Obviously, if you are a first time DC tourist...see the monuments, the Smithsonians, the Capitol. I returned to DC for the 6th time, went to the Portrait Gallery and was blown away! This is a lesser known Smithsonian museum, but the collection is incredible. Starting with the founding fathers, indians, civil war heros...spectacular. But when you go upstairs to see the contemporary portraits...amazing! Walter Cronkite, sports greats, Robert Kennedy, and whatever your political affiliation the Hillary Clinton portrait is understated and dramatic at the same time. Obviously this museum is not for everybody, but I loved it and would go back again. Oh, and dont get me started on the Presidential portraits,,,,,every American needs to see these,

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    294
    50
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“National Portrait Gallery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I liked the museum but to explore and learn a lot of things i think you would have to go there several times because it is so big and includes so much art from different times.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAYS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

not only is the art wonderful, but the courtyard is breathtaking. I enjoyed a nice salad and glass of wine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is the one to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I suspect the NPG gets overlooked because it's not on the Mall with the other museums and galleries, which is really too bad. The portrait collection is brilliant. Everything from LL Cool J through RFK to Jim 'Double-Helix' Watson and Barbara Bush ... the styles are tremendously varied, the subjects drawn from the immediately recognizable to the pretty damned obscure. Trust the Gates to have their portrait done in HD....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've visited this gallery several times and find it always to be an inspiring and educational experience. I especially enjoy the gallery with portraits of each of the presidents which is a bit of a mini history lesson. I also enjoy the special exhibits that I've encountered there whose subjects have ranged from Katherine Hepburn to Emelia Earhart to a display of love letters.

The Portrait Gallery is not nearly as crowded as other Smithsonian museums probably because it isn't on the main Smithsonian campus. To me, that's a plus, especially after a day going to the more popular DC sites. Close to the Chinatown/Gallery Place metro and there are many good restaurants nearby.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Portrait Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.