We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place for the family, groups or solo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$36*
and up
Washington DC in a Day Tour
Ranked #11 of 486 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for the family, groups or solo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is an outstanding museum, its definitely worth the visit. This is my 3 time in the museum and I still want to go again. There's so much to see and do in the museum. There are great airplane exhibits, lots of air and space history but explained in a dynamic and interactive way. The flight simulators are a fantastic experience for kids and adults as well. The design of the exhibits and area was definitely exquisitely designed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,975
    1,933
    605
    75
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must see if you are tech addict”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

One of the best museuns I had see im my life. If you are a tech guy, you will need one day to see everything in detail. You will see all the machines like the used to conquer space, some Russian. 3D movies worth the line. There is a free guide tour each hour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Information galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

An excellent option for super rainy days! In Washington DC there are stacks of free museums, so we picked the National Air and Space museum. There was so much to see inside! We spent 4 hours in there, even though we breezed through most exhibits and didn’t even see everything! We checked out early flight and the development of the jet, America by air, the space race, how things fly, and planes of the world wars. It was a bit of an information overload, but really interesting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
“Historical, Interesting, and Very Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

During a recent visit to Washington D.C. my wife and I visited the National Air and Space Museum of the Smithsonian Institution. It was an absolute treat visiting each exhibit, collection, and artifacts from the earliest days of man’s quest to fly to today’s advanced aeronautical technologies.

We started looking at the Mercury Friendship 7, then to the Apollo 11, the old Soviet Union’s SS-20 and the U.S. Pershing II rockets. We then moved to explore exhibits of early aircraft design, technological advances, and of course an excellent selection of vintage World War II American, German, Japanese, and Russian aircraft (land and nautical based).

After several hours looking at all the exhibits it became very obvious the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum maintains the largest collection of historic air and spacecraft in the world. The 22 exhibition galleries, displaying hundreds of artifacts including the original Wright 1903 Flyer, the "Spirit of St. Louis," and the Apollo 11 command module made it possible to truly appreciate how far we’ve come in the pursuit of flight.

Anyone visiting Washington D.C. should take full advantage of all the Smithsonian Institution has to offer. For those interested in flight, the Air and Space Museum is a hands down a must see.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

A really great way to travel back in time and experience what it was like to go into space. It was definitely an eye opening experience and its simply unbelievable that these astronauts were able to this...simply unbelievable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.