We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Washington DC Segway Night Tour
Ranked #15 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: History Museums, Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Pflugerville, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a quick 2 day trip to DC and of the 5 Museums we visited this was our favorite. Awesome to see what the Wright brothers began and where it went from there. All ages can enjoy this one.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,448
    1,423
    440
    57
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Go as soon as they open if you can help it because this place fills up with kids very quick making it difficult to get around.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Plan to spend the better part of the day there, there is a ton to see, old aircraft, rockets, moon landers, spacesuits and all kinds of other cool things. I don't have any kids yet but the one's I saw running around the museum were obviously loving it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was really looking forward to this museum but found that it was just okay. When we first arrived, we weren't sure where to start. We asked the guide at the Welcome Desk and he shoved a map in our hands and said "It's really quiet simple ... Air to the right. Space to the left." Not helpful at all.

To be fair, he was probably exasperated by all of the kids in the museum. It seemed like most chaperones were just letting their pre-teen groups run wild in the museum without supervision. It was impossible to see anything without getting trampled or shoved by kids in groups and they were constantly yelling at each other.

There were some cool things to see, like exhibits from the Apollo missions and WWII-era flight gear. We also really liked the aircraft carrier gallery/mock up. However, I'd generally recommend avoiding this place during tourist season (Spring/Summer). I don't even think there's a good time of day to go -- every time we walked by it was packed. I know we won't go back any time soon!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the Spirit of St. Louis to the moon lander it is easy to see why this is the Smithsonian's most popular museum. Very well done and interesting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.