We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$36*
and up
Washington DC in a Day Tour
Ranked #11 of 332 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Escorted 100 WWII and Korean war Vets (Honor Flight) to this Museum. The guides were great. The planes were super. The F-86 was really an emotional visit for our Korean Vets.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,400
    2,091
    639
    82
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had three hours to kill as we were flying back to the UK so we thought we would pop over to the museum. Everything about it impressed. Firstly it is free. The building is modern and well laid out. The exhibits were fascinating. The space shuttle, Enola Gay etc. Some real aviation history in there. As a Brit, shame they did not have a bit more on British aeronautical history....the modern jet engine, Brit invention - swing wing, VTOL, first commercial jet airliner, first jet aricraft capable of super cruise - the English Electric Lightning, thrust vectoring etc. Come on Smithsonian, get some Brit gear in there!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Smithsonian does It right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Every aspect of flight from pre-Wright Brothers to space exploration was featured in some area of this museum. Add to that the artifacts that were collected and you have a museum that is worth your time. Seeing the planes belonging to Earhart, Lindberg, etc. made this trip a must do.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing - the shuttle up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Love technology? Airplanes? Space flight? Then, this is the place to go. From early aircraft, to quirky aircraft to aircraft that changed the world and transportation - it shows how far we've come and how fast!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gloria H”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We as Americans, are so blessed that we have accomplished so much in such a short period of time. This museum allows you to see and experience in a very short period of time snapshots of our space history. It is easy to see the whole museum in a little over an hour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.