We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth fighting DC traffic to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #16 of 252 attractions in Washington DC
Type: Science Museums, Specialty Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lehigh Valley, PA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth fighting DC traffic to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you have even a mild interest in aviation and/or space exploration, this is a must-visit museum. Absolutely first-class layout, displays and staff. I took my pilot-in-training son with me and we didn't want to leave. Fantastic IMAX theater layout and movie choices--we saw, and loved "Fighter Pilot." The only, very minor downside was the loooonnnnggg line at the museum store checkout counter, which precluded us buying anything. Go!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,750
    1,205
    387
    48
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Air & Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

To touch some of these items just makes you a better person. Something that was thousands of miles in space is now close up. The history is amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Great exhibits, but stressfully busy, and horrible cafeteria (McDonalds)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I really want to love this museum, because its exhibits are so fascinating, and beautifully displayed. I'd go so far as to say unmissable if you have any interest in flight or space. But it is a victim of its own success, because it is pretty much always extremely, stressfully busy. The place shrieks with hyperactive children. There are queues for the restrooms that make you cross your legs anxiously. There is a massive gift store heaving with shoppers. And they have made the decision to house a weirdly stressful and uncomfortable limited menu McDonalds in place of its cafeteria, which is of course adequate, but not the sort of place to rest with a cup of coffee - it just adds to the frenetic nature of this museum, removing much hope of respite. As others have said, aim for early morning, or one of their after hours events, to enjoy this museum in a more serene environment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always a hit with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Even though this museum was packed when we went and it was almost hard to move, we always love this place. The kids liked going in the planes and rockets and the movie we watched in the planetarium was great. I would recommend choosing certain exhibits to see before you get there so you can priorities your time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Look into the sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place to spend time learning about space and just getting to see really neat things. One can spend hours here and never get bored.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.