We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #16 of 252 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Science Museums, Specialty Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful Collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you love air and spacecraft it doesn't get any better than this. The exhibits are uncrowded and the signs are clear and concise. The star is Discovery- magnificent. Be sure to get a docent tour- the best way to appreciate what you are seeing. The docents are excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,814
    1,234
    393
    48
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I grew up during the race for space of the 1950s and 1960s. I remember hearing of Sputnik and how the U.S. was in the race to be the first to put a man on the moon. I'm a native of Massachusetts, and President Kennedy, a native son, talked about putting a man on the moon before the 1970s. Artifacts from the space exploration were on display at Air and Space. I had seen them on television, but here they were up close and personal. That changed everything for me.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great for visitors young and old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The youngest of the travelers in our group wondered around the museum with looks of true amazement. Seeing the actual planes, missiles, capsules, etc. that have broken sound barriers, entered space and even set foot on the moon was awe inspiring. For older guests that have lived through some of these momentous moments, it provides a walk down memory lane. It doesn't take nearly as long to go through as some of the other Smithsonian museums as many of the artifacts are so large.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My kids marvel at the enormity of the real missiles, planes, etc. There are also little kid friendly / interactive exhibits.
My wife and I really enjoy the more detailed exhibits.
The movies are great and the food concession is good.
It is a few blocks from the Metro. Parking is difficult.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hands-on, great for kids of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

From the experimental lab where you can touch, play with, and see demos of physics to the flight simulators, there's a reason this is the most popular of the Smithsonian museums, especially for families.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.