We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aviation history up close and personal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$50*
and up
Washington DC in a Day Tour
Ranked #10 of 468 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Aviation history up close and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It is a wonderful way to spend the day when in the area. There is a $15.00 parking charge but well worth it for the free admission price to the museum. Definitely take the guided tour. Takes about an hour and half. So much information with personal insight. Our guide Joe Breen was a former pilot with wonderful facts and great personal experience. There are over 150 planes and more to see. Really enjoyed seeing the space shuttle Discovery. The only place to eat there is MacDonalds. Not my favorite eating place. Chicken sandwich was horrible. During the week as not crowded at all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,051
    1,605
    501
    65
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Washington DC classic.. must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I remember going here as a kid and couldn't wait to take my children on our first visit to this great city. How can anyone NOT like this place? Planes, rockets, spacesuits and... space ice cream?!

Get your kid on and get down to the Air and Space Museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful - just an hour or two for little kids, but two issues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've been the the Air & Space Museum a few times, but this was the first time with my daughter, who is 4 1/2 years old. The volunteers at the information desk (a few knowledgeable older men during my visit) were very helpful (and obviously having fun) and suggested age-appropriate exhibits. My daughter was thrilled to touch a moon rock. She liked the museum, but not as much as the Aerospace Museum in California, because you can't actually get into the planes (which is very rare). I think she will enjoy it and spend a lot more time at this museum in a few years. I have only two criticisms of the museum. The first is that that the only food option was McDonalds when we visited on the Friday before Christmas. Be sure to dine elsewhere if this is a concern for you. The second is that an author was signing his book, "A Pilot's Journey" about a Tuskegee airman, outside the museum shop. I bought the book because I've been curious about the Tuskegee Airmen but haven't read any books about it. Unfortunately, it was a very poorly written book. My lesson -- don't assume that a book is written well just because the Air & Space Museum allows an author signing on the premises.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Up, up and away...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ok I love this museum, but when a 21 yer old granddaughter likes it that is something. It is just the place if you care at all about aviation and space. If not shame on you!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk County
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for people of all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This museum was a great time and we all learned a lot! Went with a small group of 23 year olds and we had a blast. Make sure to do the tours and all the shows, well worth it! Would love to go back!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.