We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always more to discover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$79*
and up
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum and...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always more to discover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Live in the area and have been twice. Like all our msueums, go back, there is always something more to learn, or just catch an IMAX show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerkin3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maryland
Level Contributor
396 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Four Tips To Help You Enjoy This Great Museum Despite the Crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Air and Space is as great as ever despite the crowds. The other reviews tell much about this museum, but here are four sure-to-help tips to make your visit enjoyable. 1) Go early. Be among the first to visit and you'll have more chance to see what you want at a less frenzied pace. 2) Buy IMAX tickets as soon as you arrive. If you're interested in any of these fine films, buy the tickets as soon as you arrive, and then tour the museum until showtime. Don't tour and then try to get a ticket, as you may have to wait or may get shutout. 3) Consider a tour. They last 90 minutes, and give you a great overview. This is especially good for those with limited time. 4) Skip the food. You can eat cheaper and better elsewhere. Now, 10-9-8..... Start your visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Too much to take in in one visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our second visit to the museum-we had decided that we need to revisit as we found it too much to take in when we visited four years ago.
This time we spent approx 2 hours which was more than enough for our 5 year old.
We need a third visit so that we can say 'We Have Seen' the museum!
Its a fascinating place with so many historic exhibits.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fordwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mega impressive - touch, experience, learn and wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

There are a number of Smithsonian's at the Washington Mall - this is a superb one that it makes sense to schedule at least 4 hours if not an entire day to visit. Adults and kids enjoy it plus it includes a small food court.

Do not miss the planetarium it is a mega impressive display with informative and friendly hosts. We are Australian and they even switched to the southern sky to let us show others our milky way, pointers and southern cross - that was a super touch. The staff there have an awesome job and personalise the experience:-)

yes the IMAX costs - we saw the hubble telescope 3D movie it was AMAZING and well well worth paying for. So many things to learn and understand.

This place is crammed with fascinating and educational things to not only view but to touch and experience. An awesome day for all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonjabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,039 reviews
694 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,746 helpful votes
“The Kids Could not get Enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I visited the Air and Space Museum almost 40 years ago when I was a young boy and still had fond memories so when I had the opportunity to take my kids to Washington DC this past summer, the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum was on my list of must-visits with the hope that it would leave the same impression upon my kids as it did me so long ago. We were not disappointed. We spend half a day and my kids were thrilled; they could not get enough and we will be returning to see more. There were too many exhibits of interest to name them all but Charles Lindbergh’s Spirit of St Louis and anything to do with the moon landings were among their favorites. The Smithsonian Air and Space Museum clearly has the ability of inspire and fascinate members of all generations.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing