We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always more to discover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #16 of 257 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Science Museums, Specialty Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always more to discover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Live in the area and have been twice. Like all our msueums, go back, there is always something more to learn, or just catch an IMAX show.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,204
    1,348
    426
    53
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Four Tips To Help You Enjoy This Great Museum Despite the Crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Air and Space is as great as ever despite the crowds. The other reviews tell much about this museum, but here are four sure-to-help tips to make your visit enjoyable. 1) Go early. Be among the first to visit and you'll have more chance to see what you want at a less frenzied pace. 2) Buy IMAX tickets as soon as you arrive. If you're interested in any of these fine films, buy the tickets as soon as you arrive, and then tour the museum until showtime. Don't tour and then try to get a ticket, as you may have to wait or may get shutout. 3) Consider a tour. They last 90 minutes, and give you a great overview. This is especially good for those with limited time. 4) Skip the food. You can eat cheaper and better elsewhere. Now, 10-9-8..... Start your visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Too much to take in in one visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our second visit to the museum-we had decided that we need to revisit as we found it too much to take in when we visited four years ago.
This time we spent approx 2 hours which was more than enough for our 5 year old.
We need a third visit so that we can say 'We Have Seen' the museum!
Its a fascinating place with so many historic exhibits.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Mega impressive - touch, experience, learn and wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

There are a number of Smithsonian's at the Washington Mall - this is a superb one that it makes sense to schedule at least 4 hours if not an entire day to visit. Adults and kids enjoy it plus it includes a small food court.

Do not miss the planetarium it is a mega impressive display with informative and friendly hosts. We are Australian and they even switched to the southern sky to let us show others our milky way, pointers and southern cross - that was a super touch. The staff there have an awesome job and personalise the experience:-)

yes the IMAX costs - we saw the hubble telescope 3D movie it was AMAZING and well well worth paying for. So many things to learn and understand.

This place is crammed with fascinating and educational things to not only view but to touch and experience. An awesome day for all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
671 reviews 671 reviews
442 attraction reviews
Reviews in 245 cities Reviews in 245 cities
917 helpful votes 917 helpful votes
“The Kids Could not get Enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I visited the Air and Space Museum almost 40 years ago when I was a young boy and still had fond memories so when I had the opportunity to take my kids to Washington DC this past summer, the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum was on my list of must-visits with the hope that it would leave the same impression upon my kids as it did me so long ago. We were not disappointed. We spend half a day and my kids were thrilled; they could not get enough and we will be returning to see more. There were too many exhibits of interest to name them all but Charles Lindbergh’s Spirit of St Louis and anything to do with the moon landings were among their favorites. The Smithsonian Air and Space Museum clearly has the ability of inspire and fascinate members of all generations.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.