We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids love it. Parents love it even more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$50*
and up
Washington DC in a Day Tour
Ranked #15 of 242 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: History Museums, Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Kids love it. Parents love it even more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Something for everyone. Lots of things for the kids to get up close to and plenty for the adults to study and take in. It gets very crowded during high tourist times, but it is still nice even then

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,654
    1,478
    458
    62
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinesville, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Space Shuttle Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I like the Observation Deck, all the air Air Craft, The Movies shown everything was great experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Interactive kids area was my favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very cool to see planes up close and personal. Wasn't one of my favorite museums, but I'm glad I can say I saw it. The interactive kids area was more my speed and gave good explanation for how planes are able to fly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great - too crowded - visit its sister museum by Dulles Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great rockets, descriptions, planes, IMAX - but way too many people. Go to the Udva Hazey museum by Dulles Airport (also a Smithsonian museum). Historic plances, a space shuttle, and much more, including a not too full Imax!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great selection of aircrafts and very informative. We have lift-off!!!

McDonalds in the building is expensive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.