We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat overrated...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$50*
and up
Washington DC in a Day Tour
Ranked #10 of 472 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Somewhat overrated...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

You get to see ICBMs and smaller planes. The cockpit simulators (that looked pretty cool btw) were offline. While some exibits had a extra to it, most were pretty dull and lacked content. The other building they have near Dulles have larger aircraft such as Concord...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,145
    1,642
    511
    68
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was at the top of my list of things to do in Washington and I was not dissapointed. What a fantastic collection of all things to do with flight. You really could spend the day there. Lots of interactive stuff and simulators etc. The planetarium is well worth a look and there are different presentations on throughout the day. The hightlights for me were Amelia Earharts plane and of course the Spirit of St. Louis. I would encourage anyone with even a slight interest in Air or Space travel to go. I would come back to Washington for this museum alone!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Some of the displays are run down. Kids lost interest very quickly. Just like our space program this museum is on it's way out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lot to see, impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We toured both the venues - on the Mall and out at Udvar-Hazy. A lot of artifacts in not enough spaces. On the Mall, the Early Flight, Explore the Universe and Moving Beyond Earth are very well done. The Mall venue is very crowded. Udvar-Hazy has the Discovery shuttle and a great variety of planes progressing from early days to modern fighters. Great if you like airplanes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Inspiring Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Although the downtown museum is smaller than I expected, it was still a great museum. We made a quick trip through in a couple hours, but could easily have spent a day viewing the exhibits and watching the videos. Lots for everyone to see and interact with.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.