We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a bird, It's a plane, It's a space ship!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
6th and Independence Ave., SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Washington DC Segway Night Tour
Ranked #15 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: History Museums, Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of the Smithsonian museums features the Wright Brothers' 1903 Flyer and Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“It's a bird, It's a plane, It's a space ship!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wow, something for everyone who is remotely interested in flight! The museum is chock full of aircraft of all types and many exhibits both video and static. Plan on spending the better part of a day. A must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,464
    1,430
    440
    57
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Air & Space Museum is good for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

It was a great museum to visit. The best one for kids.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Our son's favorite Smithsonian museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have an 8 year old and this was particularly exciting for him to see the Spirit of St. Louis, the Wright Bros. exhibit, and planes from WWII. One side is devoted to space and the other devoted to Air. See both but be ready to take breaks! This place is huge! There is a McDonald's, McCafe, Boston Market, and pizza as well.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Air & Space Museum a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was a great place to start sightseeing in Washington, especially if you have children. There are aircraft dangling overhead and a nice eatery on premises. There is also an IMAX theatre in this Smithsonian museum which offers different movies. When you arrive, make sure you go buy your tickets for your movie first, before you look at the exhibits. Just about the time you're tired of walking, it'll be time for your movie to begin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“I really wanted to like this museum...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This museum was to be the highlight of our trip. We were so excited! We couldn't believe some of the bad reviews on Trip Advisor... surely these were just overly sensitive and picky people!

Well, I'm sad to say the many negative reviews are correct. This museum is stuffy, hot, over crowded, and just... boring. It breaks my heart to say this! I'm an EXTREMELY easy person to please. But we could hardly move in this museum, there were RUDE loud families everywhere who couldn't seem to control their children (we take our 4 year old everywhere, and he is NOT allowed to run around a museum like a maniac throwing fits over McDonalds or pushing adults aside at exhibits). I understand this behavior is not the fault of the museum, but the crowdedness of the exhibits (and the suffocating temperatures inside) did not help.

There are SO MANY amazing things to see inside this museum, there truly are! But the crowdedness really took away from it. We decided to spring for a ticket to one of their imax films (the museum was free...why not?). I'm sad to report I paid a pretty penny for a nice long nap. No one in our party could stay awake during the movie! We all awoke as the credits rolled and nervously giggle and looked at each other like, "Ooops! Blew that one..."

I wish I could recommend this museum. But with so many other FANTASTIC museums to see, this just isn't one I'd return to. Yes, there are some seriously awesome planes in this place. But the crowds and the heat and the condition of the exhibits ruined it for me and I doubt we will return if we ever make it back to DC. Sorry, Smithsonian! This one just didn't hit it out of the ball park for me!

*One shining star... the hands-on kids area is pretty cool. If you can get the bratty 10 year old away from the exhibit long enough to allow someone else a turn. Seriously. Who teaches these children manners! Who pushes pre-schoolers around??

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.