We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Mall

National Mall
Constitution Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20565 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #23 of 487 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I love walking the National Mall. You can spend the whole day leisurely walking gardens, view monuments, and visiting museums. It's a very historic, and patriotic place to visit. I am Canadian yet I felt a strong sense of pride each time I visited the National Mall. When in DC it is a place that should not be missed. The Lincoln Memorial is my favourite, when you stand at the top the steps and look out over the mall it is breathtaking.
Don't miss it

*i have not been to DC since 2011 but the review page would not go back that far*.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,666
    527
    175
    40
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
291 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Impressive stretch of land”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The National Mall is, pound for pound, among the most impressive stretches of land anywhere. Huge monuments, significant government buildings, and world class museums.

Also just a great place to walk and hang out, thought it certainly gets packed on crowded days. It's amazing how much fits into it, but it's still quite large, so come with a plan. You can walk the entire length in a few hours, but if you want to visit any of the sites you'll need a strategy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You gotta walk it to get it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Yes its alot of steps but if taken at a leisurely pace with a friend the time flies as you share the experience and celebrate being in the center of Democracy. This place really speaks to you if you listen. The layout and history of the place is hard to wrap your arms around. This is the place! All the Presidents, all the great speakers, the protests and the democratic process at its best. Nowhere else in the world can you openly, peacefully, defiently, object to anothers opinion including those who govern and possibly change the course of history in the process as you can in the United States. The Mall layout with seperation of White House, Capitol Hill, Supreme Court, are spelled out in the Constitution and the great Americans who made that happen along the way are memorialized on the outline framing the Mall.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Didn't walk the whole thing in one day - but how about two!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Expansive and historic. Visited one half of the Mall one day (Library of Congress, Capitol Hill, National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden, Museum of Natural History) and the next day we visited the second half (White House- not technically the Mall- the Lincoln Memorial all the way back to the Air and Space). Ugh! I can't even imagine walking the whole thing in one day but I am sure it is possible. We did all with three young children and they were awesome about the it. I think the myriad kiosks filled with food, drink and some light shopping that surround the mall might have helped take the sting out of walking so much. What is nice is they have water fountains scattered through out the Mall. Interesting place to be on off hours when the hum of charter buses doesn't clog up the area. Great place with the Capitol on one end and Honest Abe at the other.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A LONG WALK BUT WORTH IT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The National Mall stretches for two miles or so but if you're not in a hurry and if it's not too hot, it's a very nice, comfortable walk that allows you to take in the energy of the memorials and museums that grace this city. There are park benches positioned all along the mall so it's easy to stop and rest, and food vendors are positioned in a couple of areas so there are plenty of refreshment opportunities. We walked the Mall on the first day of our five-day trip to DC and it gave us a nice overall view of where the sites are, making it much easier to find our way around later.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Mall also viewed

 

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.