We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, proximity, and peace in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Mall

National Mall
Constitution Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20565 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #12 of 253 Attractions in Washington DC
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beauty, proximity, and peace in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is an ideal place for a picnic, a stroll in the grass, a place to see any number of entertainers, or to take in the grand scope and majesty of the city. Also, if you are in the city during the summer, try to take in movies on the green where they erect a large screen and show movies on the mall. During the Christmas season, the massive trees and other displays are great to see also.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    830
    256
    69
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Culture, Politics and Science all mixed into one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The massive National Mall, the centre of Washington DC, host to the best memorials and museums of the nation, the power centre of US politics.

There is so much to see, that even a week devoted to this place will not be enough. Short on time though, I was forced to do it in a fraction of that time. Nonetheless, I was blown away at the audacity, the scale of this place. Perhaps no other place on earth comes close that can pack so much culture, education and entertainment into one place. But the National Mall does this easily.

A must visit destination for anyone around the world.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eurkea California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Most Thrilling 'goose bump trip' ever our Nation's Capitol.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I went together alone from our five boys and stayed at the Holiday Inn right around the corner from National Aerospace Museum. We went for a five day trip and still did not see everything. Felt so patriotic and Proud to be an American.To walk on stones and paths where many famous historical figures exactly walked was thrilling. Everyday we got up excited for another adventure so much to take in, so many things to see and do. This was by far one of our very favorite trips top five of 33 years of marriage.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Innaugeration Well Organized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What an excellent event, it was well organized and a once in a lifetime experience for all. The flags for everyone was a great touch to such a special event.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's NOT a shopping center!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

it's beautiful, all the Smithsonian Museums, the art galleries, the Capitol building, the WWII building, the Washington Monument are on it. During the summer, the Smithsonian Folklife festival is held on it, which is very worth visiting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Mall also viewed

 

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.