We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culture, Politics and Science all mixed into one.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Mall

National Mall
Constitution Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20565 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #23 of 486 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
174 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Culture, Politics and Science all mixed into one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The massive National Mall, the centre of Washington DC, host to the best memorials and museums of the nation, the power centre of US politics.

There is so much to see, that even a week devoted to this place will not be enough. Short on time though, I was forced to do it in a fraction of that time. Nonetheless, I was blown away at the audacity, the scale of this place. Perhaps no other place on earth comes close that can pack so much culture, education and entertainment into one place. But the National Mall does this easily.

A must visit destination for anyone around the world.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,667
    528
    175
    41
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eurkea California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most Thrilling 'goose bump trip' ever our Nation's Capitol.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I went together alone from our five boys and stayed at the Holiday Inn right around the corner from National Aerospace Museum. We went for a five day trip and still did not see everything. Felt so patriotic and Proud to be an American.To walk on stones and paths where many famous historical figures exactly walked was thrilling. Everyday we got up excited for another adventure so much to take in, so many things to see and do. This was by far one of our very favorite trips top five of 33 years of marriage.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Innaugeration Well Organized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What an excellent event, it was well organized and a once in a lifetime experience for all. The flags for everyone was a great touch to such a special event.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's NOT a shopping center!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

it's beautiful, all the Smithsonian Museums, the art galleries, the Capitol building, the WWII building, the Washington Monument are on it. During the summer, the Smithsonian Folklife festival is held on it, which is very worth visiting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great on a Nice Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a way to spend the day! There isn't enough time to see everything in a weekend, that's how jam packed this place is with things to do. If you stand in the center you can see the Capitol, Washington Monument, White House, Jefferson Memorial, and the Lincoln Memorial. There is a lot of walking if you want to see even half of these. The distances are decieving between them, so be prepared.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Mall also viewed

 

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.