We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Art

National Gallery of Art
West Building, Constitution Avenue and 6th Avenue, Washington DC, DC 20002 (National Mall)
202-737-4215
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's greatest art museums is comprised of two buildings: one holds paintings from the 13th through the 18th centuries and the other exhibits modern art.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved the ice skating rink in the National Gallery Sculpture park across the street. Loved seeing famous artwork and special gallery with antique home furnishings. The rotunda area was BEAUTIFUL! I visited during the holidays, but I'm sure it would look nice any time of the year.
We visited about 30 minutes before close, but the staff encouraged us to come on in and explore anyway!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,573
    689
    109
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Must see the Presidents Poitraits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spend some time with a guide in this area. It will be worth the time and effort. The entire gallery something to see.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
218 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“An amazing art collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

One of the top painting collections in the world, in a beautiful and well organized building. What more to say?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning Building and Contents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

One of the best galleries I have visited - the building itself is imposing and beautiful, as well as being an extraordinary repository of a huge range of significant art pieces.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“East wing closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was disappointing that the entire East Wing was closed. That was where we planned to spend our afternoon. The other side was lovely, but we prefer more modern art.
There is a lovely new Van Gogh on display.
I appreciated the spaciousness of the galleries and the comfortable seating available. It was nice to be able to sit and contemplate the art.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Art also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.