We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Art

National Gallery of Art
West Building, Constitution Avenue and 6th Avenue, Washington DC, DC 20002 (National Mall)
202-737-4215
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Best Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's greatest art museums is comprised of two buildings: one holds paintings from the 13th through the 18th centuries and the other exhibits modern art.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Even if your only mildy interested in fine art you'll enjoy this visit. The building itself adds to the experience of the art. Unlike the chaos of Air and Space and the other family orientated museums this museum is quiet, relaxing and slow in a good way. Spot here just to relax or chatch a quick break. There's area just to sit and enjoy and the different alcoves will give you a feeling of solitude. Note this is not a "Smithsonian" so they have different hours than them, usually closing earlier. I spent a couple of hours here, but had to leave when they closed. I could have spent much more time. Portraits, sculptures, bronze, you name it, it's there. Im a portrait guy myself.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,568
    689
    109
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monkton, Vermont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I am not well educated in art history, but I love, love, love, the National Gallery of Art. It is worth at least one full day of your trip to Washington DC if not two or three.
The Waterfall Café is pricey, but beats the heck out of the McDonalds at the Air and Space Museum.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“To really enjoy you need plenty of time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

It's huge! There are 3 floors of displays, paintings, sculptures, you name it they have it. The displays are well laid out and each has a sign noting the name, artist, date, etc.. It can be enjoyed by young and old alike. My only regret is that we got their late (there is so much to see in DC) and only had about an hour to explore, but it is a must stop for our next visit and if we are really lucky we will have the grandkids as they will surely enjoy it as well. One other thing it's FREE.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definite must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was in D.C for a 2 days and wish I had a week to check out all the museums! I loved the collections and the museum space was beautiful to enjoy all the worthwhile art to see.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Easily spent a few hours here on a Sunday afternoon recently. The Guided Tour on the French Collection is a brief 50 minutes but covers pre-Revolution to the Impressionists and on. Very knowledgeable guide. Having just been in Amsterdam, I appreciated the Dutch Vermeers and such. Lunch at the French Cafe was delicious. We chose a buffet with quiche, cheeses, soup and of course, chocolate mousse.

Never knew until visiting--the National Gallery does not charge for admittance.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Art also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.