We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Art

National Gallery of Art
West Building, Constitution Avenue and 6th Avenue, Washington DC, DC 20002 (National Mall)
202-737-4215
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's greatest art museums is comprised of two buildings: one holds paintings from the 13th through the 18th centuries and the other exhibits modern art.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you never see another art gallery, you must see this one in DC.
A brilliant, superb collection of some of the greatest artists work in time. A great admirer of Monet, I was thrilled to to see in person my favorite painting of "Bridge Over a Pond of Water Lilies".

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,599
    692
    110
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep the kids interested.... Play "rename" that piece of art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

So instead of "man eating fruit", its "Santa clause bored with apples". Kids had blast this way and got something out of it that otherwise could have scarred them from art ...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not on the plan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was free!! We took the 60 minute suggested tour by the desk. It did not disappoint. The staff gave us a map with the top highlighted artists! So glad we squeezed it in! DC in only 2 days.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
163 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Almost killed me, but I saw it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Where to start? Gallery after gallery of every possible time period. Some very famous, some less known but soul-stirring. Modern art as well as classical. Mostly Europe, but some other. We were on our feet for 6 hours and my back was killing me, but I had to see it all... and I did. Be careful to wear your best, sir-soled shoes; the marble is hard on your back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Ballet Russe special exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've been a huge fan of the Ballet Russe's costume designs for years. I used it as inspiration for a project when I studied in a fashion design school. So it's a pleasant surprise to find the special exhibition of Ballet Russe in the East Wing during my visit. It's a must-see for anyone who appreciates performing art and costume designs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Art also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.