We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roy Lichtenstein Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Art

National Gallery of Art
West Building, Constitution Avenue and 6th Avenue, Washington DC, DC 20002 (National Mall)
202-737-4215
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 249 attractions in Washington DC
Type: Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the world's greatest art museums is comprised of two buildings: one holds paintings from the 13th through the 18th centuries and the other exhibits modern art.
Armonk, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Roy Lichtenstein Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Liked that the paintings and sculpture make you smile, think and reflect on the artist and his time. Wham!

Didn't like the crowds which made viewing difficult, but want everyone to see this eye-opening and comprehensive exhibit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,162
    406
    66
    21
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So much to do and see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great facility with world renowned works of art. Knowledgeable staff. Wide non congested aisles for close up browsing

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An ideal art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It's a brilliant art museum. I'm sure that people with a certain amount of snobbery will take issue with something or other that the place is lacking, but honestly? There's not much at all. It's a really good, really well rounded museum with tons of space. You can get lost in the place for at least a couple of hours. They've got a good amount of books for sale in their giftshops as well. Definitely in my "top 2" as far as Smithsonian museums go.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Building was beautiful, many notable works of art. Nothing to not like. Large gift shop. Near the sculpture garden at the national mall which has a lovely ice skating rink in the winter.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
546 reviews 546 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Always something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You can go to the National Galeery of Art over and over again and see different things. The rotatingexhibits keep the place feeling fresh and like you have never been before. I used to walk over and stroll through on my lunch hour and never found it to be too crowded or busy. To see so many orignal pieces of art from so many different artists is amazing. They had two original Monet's which highlighted the Cathederal at Rouen which I always enjoyed, so when I went to Rouen, I already felt like I knew the place.

There are two places to eat in the Gallery, one the regular food court type area between the two wings of the museum, but I prefer the small bistro near the gift shop. It has an ever changing menu, usually based on the exhibits. It is done buffet style and is always good. It is not cheap, but it worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Art also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Gallery of Art to your Saves list