We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice spacious! First day back to school for local kids so had a lot of space to roam. Beautiful views of Nat'l Mall from co” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
Independence Ave. SW, Smithsonian Institutions, Washington DC, DC 20560
202 357 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$75*
and up
Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC
Ranked #93 of 486 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Smithsonian Institution, the Hirshorn Museum features an exciting collection of 20th-century art and its companion scultpture garden is not to be missed.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice spacious! First day back to school for local kids so had a lot of space to roam. Beautiful views of Nat'l Mall from co”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The Coffin exhibit on basement level was awesome and really enjoyed third floor permanent exhibit. A beautiful space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    106
    43
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited the Hirshhorn in August. The gallery was fine, although I have to say I found it rather uninspiring. However, the sculpture garden located in the mall was a delight, with many pieces displayed in a thoughtful and pleasing manner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Outside Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was in Washington D.C. for business. I spent some time just walking the National Mall and taking in the history of the city. Obviously, you see the Washington monument on one side which is being remodeled. On the other end is the capital building. In between the two are many museums, monuments and government buildings. I happened upon the Hirshhorn Sculpture Garden from the Mall side. I did not enter the building to see that collection. I am actually not an "art or sculpture" type of guy. However, it was relaxing and nice to observe the outdoor sculpture collection. There was also a pool with a small fountain at the center with several benches for lounging and relaxing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible. Didn't finish the tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

No brilliance, no uniqueness, no pleasant surprises. Lots of boredom. I usually enjoy modern art collections. But I could not stand to be in this place for too long. The building may be impressive. The collection of art was not.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pure deligh, inside and out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I visited in august 2012 and was fortunate enough to see Ai Weiei's Zodiac animals there. The hwole visit was a pure delight. It was not difficult to get in and not too crowded either. Highly reccomended. Love the shape and design of the building itself.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.