We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ai Wei Wei exhibits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
Independence Ave. SW, Smithsonian Institutions, Washington DC, DC 20560
202 357 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$75*
and up
Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC
Ranked #92 of 486 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Smithsonian Institution, the Hirshorn Museum features an exciting collection of 20th-century art and its companion scultpture garden is not to be missed.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ai Wei Wei exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A wonderful display of Ai Wei Wei's work. Paintings, sculpture, and writings make up a very fascinating presentation. Looking forward to other exhibits coming soon. The outside of the museum is unique looking and there are other interesting exhibits throughout the museum

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    106
    42
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little confusing to navigate, not as much art as I expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

One of my best friends and I stopped in here to see the Weiwei exhibit while she was visiting DC. I love sculpture gardens and I enjoyed what the Hirshhorn had to offer, but the garden itself seems small and doesn't have a tone of sculptures to enjoy. I almost feel like I must have missed some of it. The grounds are well kept and clean.
Getting in to the museum doesn't cost anything, but the entrance can be crowded. There's only one revolving door for both going in and going out, requiring a little bit of patience and some general good will. My friend and I were there before the doors opened and got a little bit nervous to see how the people in line would handle the 'one at a time rule'. It all worked out fine, but please be careful of the little old ladies with walkers who tend to visit the museum frequently. Inside, there are three levels. One is for education and the other two are for art. We really enjoyed the visiting Wei Wei exhibit. The names of the Chinese children killed in the earthquake and the backpack snake were very powerful. The range of Weiwei's art is pretty incredible. Everything from photography to sculpture to paintings. I was glad to be there with my friend who is knowledgable about Weiwei, otherwise I'm not sure I would have known enough to have been as affected by his art. The museum also had books of Weiwei out in the outer circle by some chairs.
The permanent collections were what you might expect at a contemporary art museum. What I enjoyed the most about them was seeing the date of their creation. A good number of them are from the early 1900's or even earlier, when you'd expect to see much later dates. The sculptures and 3D art are much better than the paintings.
Overall, I enjoyed our trip to the Hirshhorn. If you are in town and like art, definitely go - just maybe don't put it on the top of your list.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Why such uninspired art at such a large, great location?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you want to see great 20th century and contemporary art go to the Museum of American Art in Penn Quarter or the East Wing at the National Gallery. The Hirshhorn is a big building that the curators seem to fill with monotonous art and often minor, uninspiring artists. At the other two museums I have seen many exhibits with real sparkle, personality, and inspiration: Roy Lichtenstein, June Peik (video artist) just to name two that tower above anything I've ever seen at the Hirshhorn.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Sculpture Walk though the Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My favorite part of this museum to walk through the sculpture park. It is very tranquil. Best to do when the weather is good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Modern art”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Actually I didn't like this one compared to other museums of DC.

This related to Hirshhorn's works. It was very basic and contains sculptures that can be made by any regular human.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.