We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American History Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian Institution Building

Smithsonian Institution Building
1000 Jefferson Drive SW, Washington DC, DC 20013-7012 (National Mall)
202 633 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Smithsonian Institution Building like an insider
Special Offer
$48*
and up
Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #27 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world's largest museum and research complex is actually comprised of 19 museums and the National Zoo, with subjects that vary from African Art to the postal service, sculpture to space exploration.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“American History Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a wonderful place for children...and adults. I live in DC so I go often when friends visit. I really enjoy the ever - changing exhibits & try to stay up to date. Impressive place to say the least. Was there just yesterday as they were finishing the exhibit to commemorate Women's Suffrage..100 years. It is wonderful. Also, toured Changing America..Emancipation Proclamation & March on Washington. So informative. If you get a chance to witness a re-enactment of events at The Greensboro Lunch Counter...make that a priority when you visit. (doesn't happen every day). A Museum not to miss.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,961
    516
    147
    37
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't beat this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Best collection of everything on earth. All of the individual museums are very well done, clean, well laid out and impressive with the items they display...And free...can't beat it

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
“Christmas in DC 12-24-12-29-2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our good fortunate to make a family trip to DC this past Christmas, we visited several of the Smithsonian free museums and throughly enjoyed our visit to our Capitol City. The Christmas tree and decorations at Biotanical Garden, The Castle and throughout the city were wonderful! Consider making a trip at this time of year! Nighttime is also wonderful to view and see the lights!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NIce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The museum was great, however they were renovating it and there was a lot of construction equipment around and walls covered. But it was still beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another afternoon well spend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wandering the halls of these Smithsonian museums is a pleasure I try to afford myself after some days of hard work in Washington. This time I decided to give the Smithsonian institution a try and I was not disappointed. Yes this is a very different exhibition compared to the Natural History museum, but it was still illuminating and I thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful setting of this old building.
I ended my visit off with a walk through the garden which on this Indian Summer warm afternoon was delightful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian Institution Building also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian Institution Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian Institution Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.