We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House on Capitol Hill

Carriage House on Capitol Hill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House on Capitol Hill
Save
You added Carriage House on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
612 3rd Street Southeast, at South Carolina Avenue Southeast, Garfield Park, Washington DC, DC 20003 (Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Near Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lauren Powell is a wonderful innkeeper and the Carriage House is an eclectic mix of the family's world travels and decorating skills. The location can't be beat - you can walk from the B&B to the Library of Congress, Capitol Hill, Smithsonian, even the Lincoln Memorial if you're feeling ambitious.

Should you arrive by Amtrak, find your way in Union Station to a customer service booth where, if you're a senior (62+), you can purchase a Senior SmarTrip metro card for great rates on the subway and buses. Once you've loaded a little money on the card, take the Blue Metro Line to the Capitol South metro stop. On exiting, it's a couple of blocks' walk to the B&B.

There are good pubs and restaurants nearby for lunch or dinner at the end of a working or sightseeing day. The breakfast offered at the Carriage House is adequate; however, it could be improved upon with some variety: the addition of cheeses, more yogurts, fruit salads, artisan breads. Having said that, whether you are on business or pleasure, this B&B is near perfect.

Room Tip: Suggest you bring your own reading light as the bedrooms have very low lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
15
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This B&B is like your own home...but way better. The house is amazing. I enjoyed the innkeepers - they were very friendly and helpful. My room was private and bed was soft and relaxing. They've gone to endless lengths on the decor and have the staples around (water, lite snacks, etc.). Some rooms have a cosy, shared porch. **I would stay here again in a heartbeat.** Expectations exceeded. 5 minutes (very safe at all hours) walk to good food up on 8th. Not very far at all from Library of Congress, Capitol Hill, etc. About 10 minutes walk from Eastern Market (another delight). Several blocks from the Subway - just bear in mind re: luggage.

Only note I'd make it around the stairs. Few but STEEP stairs and then stairs up to the rooms on the inside. If stairs are a problem - you'll definitely want pass.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great experience overall! I arrived in the evening, and received a very warm welcome. I was shown around the house: my room, which was lovely, the kitchen where I could have breakfast, and was treated with a glass of wine. I didn't see the hostess after that, but the room was cleaned and towels were changed every day. It's an old house, so it's not that sparkly modern glass-and-concrete feel of a hotel. For me personally, it's a big advantage.

The building is a real character house! They also have a very nice balcony on the second floor, and a terrace on the main floor with soft couches to have dinner or just relax. Met the puppies twice during my 3-day stay - very friendly and funny. They never followed me to the stairs, but stayed on the main floor.

The location is wonderful! Can't beat that. Everything I needed was a walking distance from the Carriage house: Library of Congress, different museums, as well as various restaurants. Also, everyone said, it's the safest area of Washington.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this charming town home for a weeklong stay with our family of four. I can't say enough wonderful things about the Carriage House! First, the location was fabulous! Close to the Metro, great restaurants on 8th Street and Pennsylvania Avenue, across the street from a nice, neighborhood park, and nestled in a charming Capitol Hill neighborhood. With children, one of my main concerns was feeling safe during our comings and goings, and never once did we feel uncomfortable walking around the area, even when our wanderings brought us home very late one evening. The home was clean and fresh smelling, and features a comfortable decor and a kitchen well stocked if one chooses to do some cooking. The owners were there when we needed them, even providing us with extra umbrellas during a few rainy days, and left us alone the rest of the time. This home really offers travelers the best of all worlds... an affordable option to hotels, quaint and comfortable accommodations in a lovely neighborhood, and a location that was better than I could have imagined! I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to D.C.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife did her homework on the web and we selected this sight unseen. Wow! What a fantastic place! These folks have done a great job in preserving the 'atmosphere' and character of the historic home, plus adding a bit of their own touch. We loved the space foxes! This is a perfect location for visiting all the main activities of DC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was very happy with the accomodation and facilities. The Wi-Fi access was a real plus.
The only recomendation would be to have some one to assist with breakfast.

The house is a great period house and located very well to access all important tourist locations by foot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This place has it all: character, location, fully furnished kitchen, and responsible hosts. It was clean and they even provided juice and bread to get you started! It was perfect for our 3 adults and 2 teenagers. I don't think it would be safe for toddlers due to the lovely spiral staircase and stone floors. The couch does not fold out, but my grandson said he still slept well on it. The welcoming book is very helpful with hints for dining, grocery shopping, transportation, and sightseeing. The stairs outside and inside would be a problem for anyone with physical disabilities.

Room Tip: . The master bedroom is cooler than the extra bedroom as the air conditioner is in there. We used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House on Capitol Hill

Address: 612 3rd Street Southeast, at South Carolina Avenue Southeast, Garfield Park, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Smithsonian Museums, Library of Congress, U.S. Capitol, or the White House. We are 4 blocks from the Capitol South Metro station and steps from the Congressional offices. This comfortable private home B&B offers 4 rooms, each with queen bed and private bath, or a 2 bedroom, private entrance suite with living room and 1.5 baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.