We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pizza and a lot more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Trattoria

Aria Trattoria
1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Federal Triangle)
202.312.1250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aria Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,461 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Federal Triangle
Cross street: 13th & Pennsylvania Ave, NW
Transit: Metro: Federal Triangle
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good pizza and a lot more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The group I saw The Capitol Steps with chose Aria because it was in the same building as the theater. It was my first visit, but I applaud the choice. A group of twenty can be a challenge, but the service was smooth and attentive. We had no problem getting to the theater on time.

The food was excellent. Those who chose personal size pizza were very complimentary. Salad and sandwiches were also excellent. Aria has a full dinner menu with much more than pizza and pasta. I would say it was more represantative of European or Northern Italian cuisine than strictly Southern Italian.

Prices were moderate - what you would expect for a downtown DC restaurant that caters to business people.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    16
    10
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super Pizza and Salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our after work crew has been here several times. This trip we went for happy hour. The drink prices are OK, not overly priced. Drinks were decent. Beer could've been colder. Service was very good. The pizza was off the charts - super cheesy, crisp pepperoni, nice flavor - really exceptional! We'd been here before and really struggled between ordering pizza or salads. My favorite salad here is the chopped salad. Anyway, we'll definitely visit again!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strangnas, Sweden
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

AFTER à LOT of museums and very sore feet, it was à bliss to sit down outside in the sun At the Federal Triangle and have à salad before catching the Metro back home.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful! Awful!! Awful!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hostess was rude, the waitress was horrible, the food was mediocre and overpriced, and the place has cockroaches all over the place. The service was the worst I have ever experienced. Our waitress was never around and when she did show up it was literally hours since the last time she showed up. We had to continually ask other employees to get our waitress...which also proved to be ineffective. Just and awful experience!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourists should go elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I work in the building above Aria and I get bummed everytime I see tourists here. Yes the patio area is nice, but the food is poor and the service is not great. It's ok for a Thursday night happy hour, but otherwise there are other, better options.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aria Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Aria Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.