We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back and do it again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bike and Roll DC

Bike and Roll DC
955 L'Enfant Plaza, North Building SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
+1 202-842-2453
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$45*
and up
Washington DC Sites at Night Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Biking, Group tours/city tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike tours & rentals and SEGWAY tours! We offer the best value for sightseeing. Take a professionally led tour and let our fun and knowledgeable guides share historical and unique facts about the monuments and memorials on the National Mall OR rent a bike and explore the Capital City on your own-we have options to fit the whole the whole family. Free with every rental: helmet, lock, map, flat kit. Bike and Roll offers day and evening bike and Segway tours from mid March-mid December. Don't take our word for it - check out what travelers are saying about us in our reviews!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kronach, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back and do it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is the only way to see DC. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bikes were very well maintained and rode great. We didn't go on one of their tours but opted instead to check out the sites on our own. We had a great time, however, next time I think we'll do one of the tours to see how it is. We are now planning to try them out in other cities. Thanks Bike and Roll!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,853
    180
    33
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We booked the Capitol Sites at Night tour. We were unsure as to how this actually worked but it turned out to be a lot of fun. We lived in the D.C. area for about a year and visited my brother-in-law who lived in the area many times, but our guide still managed to give us information about the sites that was new to us. We had our own bikes with us, because we had biked the Mt. Vernon trail earlier in the day, but it appeared that the bikes you can rent were in excellent condition (each bike was equipped with front handle bag) and well suited to the type of riding that it was. The company provides helmets, vests (very bright yellow and very helpful for following everyone in front of you), water bottle, granola bar snack and flashlights for the bikes. It is very FLAT! There was a lot of stop & go due to foot traffic. Our only complaint, which I don't believe that the tour company can do anything about, was the students and their buses. They are often looking down at their cell phones while walking and crossing areas causing issues for those on bikes. There is quite a bit of crossing streets (at stop lights) so might not be suitable for younger children.
So, when you arrive at a stop the guide gives you information regarding the monument and answers any questions that you might have...you are given about 6-10 mintues to explore the monument (yes, it is quick but the tour still takes about 3 hours) while they stay with the bikes (so now worries about the items you are leaving with bikes). The guide is also happy to take any pictures with you in them, so don't hesitate to ask.
We went as far as the Jefferson Memorial (didn't realize that I had only ever been "by" this memorial and never actually in it), it's spectacular and the Roosevelt "Rooms" (I wasn't even aware of this one and it is AMAZING). Of course, we saw all of the monuments that you would expect to see and the new MLK memorial as well.
With most tours at the end they do the speech about "if you enjoyed this I make my money with tips...", NOPE nothing said but we certainly (and many others as well) did tip her. It was a lot of fun and we even picked up some new information.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
“Wow! Awesome tour of Monuments!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed our bike tour of the Washington monuments! My husband & 12 year old son rode bikes, while my 6 year old daughter rode on a tandem bike attached to mine. Great tour guide who was a native & gave us a lot of information about what we were seeing. We loved it so much, we rented bikes from their Alexandria store the next day & rode to Mt Vernon & back! Memories of a lifetime!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Good bike rental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I'm a local resident, but my bike was in the shop, so I rented a bike from Bike and Roll for the Bike DC event. Easy pick-up and drop-off and staff was helpful.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
“Bike not walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We wanted to see all the monuments and memorials around the Tidal Basin, but my husband is not able to walk that far and there were no metro stops that we could use, so by renting bikes from you we were able to see all with little effort on our part. It was the perfect way to view them all, and we have recommended doing this to all our friends who will be visiting DC

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bike and Roll DC also viewed

 

Been to Bike and Roll DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bike and Roll DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.