We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisurely trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of D.C. Ducks

D.C. Ducks
50 Massachusetts Ave. NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
301-985-3020
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/day tour, Motor-boating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Make a splash in our Nation’s Capital aboard the DC Ducks, 1942 amphibious transport vehicles used to support and carry troops during World War II. Today they are a great way to see Washington by both land and sea. Winding our way first through the monuments, the Mall, the Capitol and museums of the Smithsonian before splashing into the Potomac and under the flight path at Reagan National Airport. Its fun for all ages!
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leisurely trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I went on the DC Ducks trip and we enjoyed it. It wasn't in your face tourism but a nice leisurely thing to do. I live in DC and used the Hometown pass (locals get a free ticket with a purchase of one regular ticket) and it was a neat trip. I might also say just a tad bit boring. When we got on the Potomac there wasn't really much to see or talk about and the boat went really slow. But as we were driving in DC there was plenty to see and talk about. The driver let people drive the Duck on the Potomac which a lot of people loved. Overall it was a nice trip, but if I had been visiting and wanted to learn and see as much as DC as possible, I would opt out of it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    71
    22
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We did this tour the day after we did the monuments by moonlight tour and this was a similar tour but in the day time. It was still very fun and we got to go past the pentagon just as we first set out on the water part of the tour. To be honet though the river part was not very exciting one we got past the pentagon. Other than that good tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“These DUCKS quack me up!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Been on the ducks tour in Boston as well and this one in DC was much better with a great guide (Capt. Kent). He made the mundane stuff interesting, even for the 5-6 children on board who only wanted to "go into the water". The views of the city from the Potomac are beautiful, and with the leaves still on the trees, the greenbelt added to the panoramic style. We were given "quackers" and were encouraged to "quack" when swe saw large groups on the side walks. When we did, everyone smiled and waved...such lighthearted fun. A nice was to get an overview of the city in a fun fashion. This isn't a content laiden tour with gives history lessons, although I did learn things I hadn't know before.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very good to take photos with white house, Nice to see Duck is moving from land to water and coming up from water to land. there are some good view from water

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fun fun fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

from the time we got on the car, boat until we got off we had a blast, we learned a lot from this tour and saw some of the beautiful sites in DC. when we were handed our quackers the fun really began......this is a must do......

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D.C. Ducks also viewed

 

Been to D.C. Ducks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D.C. Ducks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.