We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like eat-at-your-home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
2815 M Street, Please Add Other Locations to Ths Listing, Washington DC, DC 20007
202 315 5420
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #318 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Like eat-at-your-home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Wood-decorated interior designs,makes it in nature and familiar like eating at your own home. Food was simple,buy tasty and not expensive. Staff was friendly,smily and well-serviced.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    102
    44
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this Le Pain Quotidien branch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

After a long walk in Washington DC, we saw a Le Pain Quotidien, and as we usually go there in our country, Argentina, we decided it would be OK there too. But it wasn't.
We sat and waited 10 minutes for them to bring us the menus, which they did AFTER we requested them, and people who had arrived after us were already eating and drinking while we were still browsing our options. The breakfast sides description is totally misleading, the french toast was totally forgettable. I ordered apple cider as a drink, and it came totally flat and murky. When I inquired our waiter about it, she explained that their Apple Cider is flat. I asked her why don't they call it "apple juice" and be done with it, and all I got was a vacant stare. When presented with the bill, I decided it was my time to vote, and on the credit card slip I filled the place for the tip with $ 0.00. Avoid this place like the plague, unless you're a full-fledged masochist!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePainQuotidien, Marketing Coordinator at Le Pain Quotidien, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello Henri

Very sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience at our Georgetown location. Thank you for your kind feedback, which helps us a lot to improve ourselves. We informed our store about the points you made, and once again, we thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Feel free to reach out at questions@lepainquotidien.com and we will be happy to make it up to you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best bread this side of the Atlantic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

When in Washington and unable to go to France, Quebec or Belgium, and filled with a craving for authentic bread, I take myself to Le Pain Quotidien. Their menu is organic, beautifully planned and offered simply, like simple good food should be. From their cafe au lait to their crusty bread, jams, petit pain au choco and hazelnut spread to their omelets and yaourt, they deliver tradition for wholesome food. I have visited several Pain Quotidien and they were all authentic and wonderful. Hopefully, they will continue their calculated expansion and come to more regions of the USA. The service is always efficient and if in luck, your server will be from a French country and won't hesitate to address you in your native language or give you some practice from your high school French - a truly wonderful touch!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
“Nice patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Went out to look for a place to have breakfast and found this wonderful place. They have a wonderful patio where I really enjoyed my french toasts.
If you are in a rush is not the place to go, as it will take some time to get your order, but if you are in for enjoying a nice place and nice food with calm, this is your place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mason, Oh, Us
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This review is for the restaurant on 10th & F St. We walked past this each day on the way down to the Smithsonian and decided to stop on for breakfast. Food was excellent, the pastries delicious and atmosphere friendly. They do lunch and would have liked to try that too. A little more expensive but worth paying for the quality and ingredients. Wish we had one locally in Ohio!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pain Quotidien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.