We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kids' favorite D.C. destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
10th Street and Constitution Ave, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202 633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Special Offer
$48*
and up
Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #22 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1910 and located on the National Mall, this prestigious museum, part of the Smithsonian Institution, holds the world's most extensive collection of natural history specimens and human artifacts including the remains of dinosaurs and tools used by early man.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My kids' favorite D.C. destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is one of my kids' favorite vacation destinations. We have spent countless hours in this museum and it seems there is always something new to explore. What I really like is how many areas are designed to be interactive. It keeps the children's interest piqued and gives them a thirst for more knowledge. I find myself getting excited to find the exact era in which the mastodon walked the Earth. It is a fun (though tiring) time for all. I recommend bringing snacks since the restaurant is often extremely crowed and sells very expensive fast food. Otherwise, it's great all around. Do drop a few dollars in the donation bins, this is a national treasure we don't want to lose.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,862
    1,041
    349
    65
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Make sure you get to the Qrius exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent about 4 hours in this museum. We kept moving a lot since the kids were getting antsy. Seeing the highlights kept their attention, but the best part we discovered by accident! On the ground floor by the restrooms (?) we saw the Qrius exhibit, which is fairly new. It allows kids from about 8 yrs and up to get very hands-on and look at actual specimens from the collection. The best area was one where there are many attendants and they keep the number of children low so they can look through drawers and drawers full of specimens and take them to a desk with a microscope and QR code reader to learn more about them, and are able to handle them! My 9 year old loved this! We could have spent 2 hours in this section!

The Hall in the middle with exhibits about the ocean was very good, but a lot of the museum was starting to feel stale and dusty.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I could go back here again and again. Love the dinosaur exhibit. Love the fossil collection. Love the rocks and minerals. The cafeteria downstairs is a good place to eat. A little on the gourmet side for a museum cafeteria and good prices for that part of town.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“History or a Mystery?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

From the time you enter and gaze at the mammoth (large elephant) near the entrance to the "Under the Sea" exhibits you will be in awe. Avoid the cafeteria, food is way overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“See the history of Man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Again, you need an entire day to go through the entire museum, and you will learn about the evolution of life and the evolution of man. Check out the amazing replicas of animals and all.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.