We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another important monument” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnam Veterans Memorial

Vietnam Veterans Memorial
5 Henry Bacon Dr NW, Washington DC, DC 20242 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$125*
and up
Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and...
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Emotionally stirring memorial pays tribute to the men and women who served in one of America's most controversial wars.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another important monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

There were a number of students visiting with their classes the day I went to the memorial. They had obviously researched different soldiers possibly from their home towns or possibly they were relatives. It was very moving to see the messages that they left beneath the soldiers' names. Also the flowers and pictures that were left made one realize that their sacrifice was not forgotten.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,556
    945
    233
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Moving !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

If you are a Veteran or not, this monument is a must to see. This was our second time to the Vietnam War Memorial .

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Although the Vietnam war happened before I was born, the memorial was still sad. Reading the names on the wall and thinking how these soldiers were so young and had lives just like the rest of us really hit hard. As sad as it is, this memorial is a beautiful tribute.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

There were many veterans visiting that day. I wanted to thank them for their service to our country but I was so choked up I couldn't talk. Very emotional to walk through and see the names of our fallen heros.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A truly moving experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Even after having seen it in photos and heard it described for many years I was not prepared for the impact of this memorial. Words cannot do it justice. It is a profoundly somber and poignant place, and stirred emotions I have not otherwise experienced. It's a truly important place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnam Veterans Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.