We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must see site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnam Veterans Memorial

Vietnam Veterans Memorial
5 Henry Bacon Dr NW, Washington DC, DC 20242 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Vietnam Veterans Memorial like an insider
Special Offer
$62*
and up
Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #11 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Emotionally stirring memorial pays tribute to the men and women who served in one of America's most controversial wars.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Must see site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very moving and I also liked the nearby sculptures even if the artist didn't approve of these additions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,023
    806
    200
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Always moving.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you haven't been, it's well worth a stop. The impact is not as great the second (or third) visit, but it is a beautiful and moving tribute to all the soldiers who gave their lives in a stupid and immoral war.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I cannot imagine a more appropriate memorial to these American heroes. I have visited this wall many times and am always in tears when I walk by. After all these years, there are still people leaving such poignant messages and memorabilia. It's amazing how silent and respectful everyone is while observing too. MUST SEE if you visit DC!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The names just go on and on and on and on and on. Had special meaning to me since my father spent one year of his life in Vietnam and has never recovered - just like so many of the men that actually made it home. Had books available to for name look up.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

All of the memorials in DC are well thought out. This is one I would, however, do during the day. We had the misfortune of doing a night tour, which was fabulous for most but the lighting for a night tour here is very poor.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnam Veterans Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.