We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So moving!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnam Veterans Memorial

Vietnam Veterans Memorial
5 Henry Bacon Dr NW, Washington DC, DC 20242 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 249 attractions in Washington DC
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Emotionally stirring memorial pays tribute to the men and women who served in one of America's most controversial wars.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“So moving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My second trip, and it still evokes tears. I like the new Women's Memorial. Even in the rain, it was worth the trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,233
    568
    130
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The memorial is breath taking and a must see area when you visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Incredibly moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is one of the most moving experiences I've ever had. We were there for Memorial Day weekend, and the crowds included many Vietnam vets. The endless names on the wall really hit you.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Emotional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

So many names on the wall, You can ge a piece of paper at the info booth near this memorial and use it to rub your loved ones name on it. A good opportunity to sit and reflect on the sacrifice these men gave for our country. It was emotional to me to see the emotions displayed by some of the Vets that were visiting the memorial.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

DC by foot offer some great tours and info on sites like the Vietnam Veterans Memorial.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnam Veterans Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vietnam Veterans Memorial to your Saves list