We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vietnam Vets Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnam Veterans Memorial

Vietnam Veterans Memorial
5 Henry Bacon Dr NW, Washington DC, DC 20242 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$125*
and up
Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and...
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Emotionally stirring memorial pays tribute to the men and women who served in one of America's most controversial wars.
Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vietnam Vets Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very moving and touching, especially for someone who grew up during this era.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,529
    937
    231
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Famous site to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

It seemed as if you couldn't go to DC without seeing this famous monument. I actually was more impressed by the Korean War memorial. Maybe because my dad served. We did all the monuments by bike. Many tired walkers made comments they wish they had our bike as we zoomed by.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Historic Must See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Because of the recognition of the Vietnam War, this memorial is a must-see. Teenagers are of the perfect age to realize how many were killed by seeing the names on the wall. Don't bother to go at night, not very well-lit to be able to see much.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The memorial is a moving sight and place for everyone should take a moment to visit. Its setting near the other memorials, Lincoln and Korean War Memorials makes the area very special.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Vietnam veteran not impressed with the Memorial”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We toured Washington monuments and memorials during Cherry Blossom time. As a Vietnam Veteran, I have never been to the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and was expecting to be moved and inspired by the Memorial. I was neither. It was especially disappointing in that while I was not impressed by the memorial which had personal meaning for me, I was very impressed by the Korean War Memorial and the World War II Memorial.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnam Veterans Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.