We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Sad and yet So Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnam Veterans Memorial

Vietnam Veterans Memorial
5 Henry Bacon Dr NW, Washington DC, DC 20242 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$125*
and up
Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and...
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Emotionally stirring memorial pays tribute to the men and women who served in one of America's most controversial wars.
San Benito, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Sad and yet So Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have seen it on TV-in books- etc., but to be able to find our lost classmates names engraved on the wall brings everything to a finalization of what we lost and gained during that time.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,542
    941
    232
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Vietnam Memorial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The wall is a solemn area along the National Mall that should be visited to remember the sacrifices of those who served and died. There were flowers and trinkets placed up against the wall. It was an emotional experience for us.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Moving and thought provoking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

A complicated war is memorialized by a simple site. the housands of names engraved almost brings a tear to your eye. Just thinking of all the sacrifice makes it a must visit attraction alone.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Profound.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Who knew polished black granite could be so physically and conceptually profound?
Let yourself linger here, and you will not forget your visit.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham -Alabama
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Impressive - best seen at night - weather can be a factor in viewing this Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My church group took a tour of Washington, D.C. in late September (off-season). The children had gone back to school, and the crowds were minimal. I come from a military background; and the first time I saw this Memorial, I was overwhelmed. It was in spring/summer and it was a very moving experience. The most recent visit was during a cool/cold, rainy season; and the experience was less moving. I still recommend it as a "must see" Memorial.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnam Veterans Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.