We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“President Lincoln's Box at Ford's Theater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Theatre

Ford's Theatre
511 10th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 347-4833
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Lincoln Assassination Walking Tour in Washington...
Ranked #22 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Theaters, Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of the April 14, 1865, assassination of President Abraham Lincoln, Ford's Theatre is a working theatre, historical monument, world-class museum and learning center. The theatre produces musicals and plays reflecting the unique, diverse character of American life. With its inspiring theatrical productions, live historic interpretation, and rich collection of artifacts, Ford’s Theatre is the premier destination in the nation’s capital to explore and celebrate the life and legacy of Abraham Lincoln. A daytime visit to the Ford’s campus traces the story of Lincoln’s presidency, assassination and legacy. The campus includes the museum, theatre, Petersen House (the house where Lincoln died) and the new Center for Education and Leadership. Tickets are required. Admission is free; advance tickets have a convenience fee.In the evenings and on weekends, Ford’s presents dynamic productions of renowned plays, vibrant musicals, and newly commissioned works that captivate and entertain while examining political and social issues related to Lincoln’s legacy.In the spring and summer, Ford’s produces one-act plays and walking tours exploring Civil War Washington. These immersive experiences provide an authentic glimpse into a singular and transformative moment of America’s past.Throughout the year, Ford’s provides engaging educational programs for students, teachers and life-long learners, using Lincoln’s speeches and legacy to build speech, writing and leadership skills.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bisbee, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“President Lincoln's Box at Ford's Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

After waiting since elementary school, I finally saw Ford's theater and the box where our President had been sitting. Excellent exhibits of history with photos and other tidbits with the finale of the theater, itself. A poignant part of American history to study and review.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    387
    97
    25
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Take It All In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Make sure you take the opportunity to go to Ford's Theatre. The guided tour will fill you with a plethora of information. You not only see the theatre, which includes the basement and count-by-count activity of Lincoln and John Wilkes Booth's activities the day of the shooting, but also gives you a tour of the house across the street where Lincoln died. The park ranger gave great details that we wouldn't have known anywhere else.

You have the opportunity to have headphones for the tour. I highly recommend it. It gives you the change to look at the photos and artifacts vs. reading and looking. We had 2 children and they had headphones as well. These were geared towards children understanding, and weren't the same as our adult headphone guided tour. Seeing the basement "museum" was very interesting and had an overwhelming amount of artifacts.

I enjoyed what I learned in the house across the street as well. The tower of Lincoln books was amazing to see. It was a stack of all books written about Lincoln. It was 3-stories tall. He is the most written about man ever.

Make sure you check out what play is being shown at the theatre. We came back that evening and enjoyed a play "The 25th Annual Putman County Spelling Bee". The kids were able to enjoy this as well. There is something special about seeing a play where Lincoln saw plays. We were able to view his booth from our seats. Pretty special experience!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

It is a fantastic lesson of American history - both about Lincoln and the life of the nation at that time. Be sure to visit 'One Destiny' play, we picked one at 5:00 because this and the next one is also giving 30 minutes access to the museum area and it's just the right amount of time to see it. The artefacts are magnificent and the play itself is a great experience - showing how it all happened exactly right there. The play is great. And make sure to visit Petersen's house on the opposite side of the road just after that, with the bed where Lincoln died. Amazing experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So much history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was one of the highest ranked places according to my grandson that he wanted to visit and we were not disappointed. We had to wait almost an hour for our tour as we arrived late in the afternoon, but that was not a problem. The Pedersen House across the street, part of the tour, was most interesting as well.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The speaker in Ford's Theatre was great and very informative. I loved going across the street to the Pederson House

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ford's Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.