We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncomfortable seats!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Theatre

Ford's Theatre
511 10th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 347-4833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 249 attractions in Washington DC
Type: Historic Sites, Theaters, History Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The site of the April 14, 1865, assassination of President Abraham Lincoln, Ford's Theatre is a working theatre, historical monument, world-class museum and learning center. The theatre produces musicals and plays reflecting the unique, diverse character of American life. With its inspiring theatrical productions, live historic interpretation, and rich collection of artifacts, Ford’s Theatre is the premier destination in the nation’s capital to explore and celebrate the life and legacy of Abraham Lincoln. A daytime visit to the Ford’s campus traces the story of Lincoln’s presidency, assassination and legacy. The campus includes the museum, theatre, Petersen House (the house where Lincoln died) and the new Center for Education and Leadership. Tickets are required. Admission is free; advance tickets have a convenience fee.In the evenings and on weekends, Ford’s presents dynamic productions of renowned plays, vibrant musicals, and newly commissioned works that captivate and entertain while examining political and social issues related to Lincoln’s legacy.In the spring and summer, Ford’s produces one-act plays and walking tours exploring Civil War Washington. These immersive experiences provide an authentic glimpse into a singular and transformative moment of America’s past.Throughout the year, Ford’s provides engaging educational programs for students, teachers and life-long learners, using Lincoln’s speeches and legacy to build speech, writing and leadership skills.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Washington DC
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“uncomfortable seats!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

They have some nice performances but the seats are horribly uncomfortable. If you do go, make sure you go downstairs to see the exhibit of Lincoln's artifacts from when he was shot.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    319
    75
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“1776 and Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We attended the musical 1776 at Ford's Theater. The show was very entertaining and it was rather awe-inspiring to see a show in this historic location. Before the show we were allowed to visit the museum downstairs. There is an impressive collection of historical items on display there, such as the pistol used in the assasination and the bloody pillow on which Lincoln's head rested. I think seeing a show was a great way to visit the theater. We didn't have to deal with any lines and the show was great.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The plays are amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have seen multiple productions at Ford's Theatre and have never been disappointed. My favorite is seeing A Christmas Carol on Christmas Eve. There isn't really a bad seat in the house so you can't ever really go wrong with the cheap seats.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

You read about this stuff and then you can actually go and sit in theater and see and feel it. It does not get much better then this.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“"One Destiny" Play was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Make sure you buy tickets online in advance. We saw the "One Destiny" 2-man play instead of the Ranger Talk and really enjoyed it. My 8 year old didn't really understand the play but my 11 year old thought it made the night of the assasination come to life. The museum downstairs is all about Lincoln's life and the state of the Union leading up to the war. Booth's gun is on display but I would have like to have seen more info about the actual day Lincoln was shot. If people don't know the actual story about the whole conspiracy, then they will miss out on the full experience. Also, you should know that the original theatre is long gone and this is just a replica of the Ford's Theatre as it was in 1865. We passed on the Peterson House (also a replica) and museum across the street so we could move on to other sights.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ford's Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ford's Theatre to your Saves list