We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, but not enough time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Theatre

Ford's Theatre
511 10th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 347-4833
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$39*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #28 of 484 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of the April 14, 1865, assassination of President Abraham Lincoln, Ford's Theatre is a working theatre, historical monument, world-class museum and learning center. The theatre produces musicals and plays reflecting the unique, diverse character of American life. With its inspiring theatrical productions, live historic interpretation, and rich collection of artifacts, Ford’s Theatre is the premier destination in the nation’s capital to explore and celebrate the life and legacy of Abraham Lincoln. A daytime visit to the Ford’s campus traces the story of Lincoln’s presidency, assassination and legacy. The campus includes the museum, theatre, Petersen House (the house where Lincoln died) and the new Center for Education and Leadership. Tickets are required. Admission is free; advance tickets have a convenience fee.In the evenings and on weekends, Ford’s presents dynamic productions of renowned plays, vibrant musicals, and newly commissioned works that captivate and entertain while examining political and social issues related to Lincoln’s legacy.In the spring and summer, Ford’s produces one-act plays and walking tours exploring Civil War Washington. These immersive experiences provide an authentic glimpse into a singular and transformative moment of America’s past.Throughout the year, Ford’s provides engaging educational programs for students, teachers and life-long learners, using Lincoln’s speeches and legacy to build speech, writing and leadership skills.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it, but not enough time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This museum and Park Ranger tour were excellent, except that I didn't think 45 min was enough time in the museum (the Theatre staff agrees and are trying to figure out an answer to that problem). There is so much to see that there's just no way to do it all in the allotted time. My 3 sons (13, 12 & 8) thought the time was just right, and awed by being in the theatre where Lincoln was shot.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,220
    493
    121
    34
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

With tour buses parked outside we found the area to be extremely busy and large groups of school children everywhere.
Good to see but not a lot of it

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester - UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A little macabre but quite upliftiung in a way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Visiting sites with greusome histories may seem odd but when the history is so intertwined with a nations development I guess the positives outweigh the downs. The assassination of Lincoln was a pivotal event in th ehistory of the US and Fords Theater close to the White House is a fitting memorial to that.

Still operational its tourist trail sideline probably funds the place more than the theater side but in that it allows the scene to be maintained as it was is a good thing. The tour takes you through a museum and that helps you understand some of the background before moving upstairs to the balcony/dress circle. You can spend whatever time you want and you are able to move all round and get that special picture of the nearly preserves box where the deed took place.

When I visited the Pietersen house opposite - where Lincoln was taken and where he died - was being refurbished but that will become an interesting twin venue for many I'm sure.

I bought and printed my own ticket before arriving - worth it to know you have a pre-booked time. Be aware though that the queue, sorry Line - sets up outside the front door. Whether that happens in bad weather I dont know - be prepared.

Nearby you are in the heart of DC with the White House, FBI Building, the Spy Museum and the Hard Rock Cafe all within a few short steps.

Nearest Meetro stop - Metro Center - 2 blocks.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

It's amazing that you can walk right up to the box where President Lincoln was shot. It was almost overwhelming to be there. The museum in the lower level of the theater is quite well put together.
I'd say it's a must for your trip to DC.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband wanted to visit Ford's Theater again, but I was hesitant as I didn't just want to see a building where a President had been assassinated. I was wrong! They have displays covering President Lincoln's presidency, it was very interesting. You have to pick up a free ticket; make sure that you keep the ticket to visit the house across the street.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ford's Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.