We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library of Congress

Library of Congress
101 Independence Ave SE, Washington DC, DC 20540 (National Mall)
(202) 707-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$47*
and up
Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric...
Ranked #4 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Government Buildings, Libraries, History Museums, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have lived here 26 years and have spoken of the Library of Congress many times. I can't believe it took me so long to see it. It is majestic!the tour is informative and I feel gratefully to Mr. Lincoln for approving the budget to build it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,145
    558
    109
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma,Wa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal architecture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Well, I don't live in the city so I cannot vouch for the true library aspect about it, but this is one of the most beautiful buildings in the entire city. The interior ceilings, walls, and overall architecture should not be missed! There is no charge and its the next building over from Capitol Hill, which is so impressive itself. It takes a lot for any building to stand out in this city compared to the many here, but the interior beauty is stunning.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I'm embarassed to admit I didn't know we had architecture here that rivaled Europe. There is also an underground tunnel to the Capital tourist entrance. This is a must see if architecture or Jeffersonian history are of interrest.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Library of Congress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What can be said about a library, it contains books, many hundreds of books. But if you are interested in a nations history through its books and papers then you will indeed enjoy this visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“See the Reading Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our tour guide.docent was excellent! She was very informative and really seemed to enjoy the work. We were on a fairly tight time schedule and would have liked to have signed up for a Library Visitors Card and gone down on the Main Reading Room floor and requested a book - next time! The main reading room is spectacular! If for no other reason pop in and take a look.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library of Congress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.