We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent Two days of my vacation here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library of Congress

Library of Congress
101 Independence Ave SE, Washington DC, DC 20540 (National Mall)
(202) 707-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$47*
and up
Capitol Hill and DC Monuments Tour by Electric...
Ranked #4 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Government Buildings, Libraries, History Museums, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though the Library of Congress doesn't own every book ever published, it sure has most of them, with 532 miles of shelves and 115 million items, with 7,000 added each working day.
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Spent Two days of my vacation here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Phenomenal experience, so much to learn. Did the guided tour and learn a great deal, then got my readers card and came back the next day for the exhibits and the young readers room for the kids. Still have more to do but not enough time!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,150
    558
    109
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A wide variety of exhibits so there is something for everyone. I do wish they did a better job lighting the display cases - I had a hard time reading some of the items in the cases.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Stunning Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I toured this very quickly, but it is worth a stop just to see the amazing architecture and design in the building.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinginflorida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“The most beautiful building in DC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

At the end of my tour of the Capital, I saw a sign for the tunnel to the Library of Congress, so I decided to explore. Where the tunnel ended in the Library was the beginning of the Library tour! I highly recommend taking the tour – the guides are very informative and otherwise you may miss some of the architectural details and history. I loved the main reading room and the great hall, as well as the important bible collection and civil war history. I would suggest that you take the time to get the readers card so that you can explore the research areas of the library. The card is free, see http://www.loc.gov/rr/readerregistration.html for instructions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Capitol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It has to be visit. Wonderful building and nice guides. If you make a reservation it is better, otherwise you have to wait about an hour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress also viewed

 

Been to Library of Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library of Congress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.