We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The U.S. National Archives

The U.S. National Archives
700 Pennsylvania Avenue, Washington DC, DC 20408 (Capitol Hill)
202 357 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 248 attractions in Washington DC
Type: History Museums, Libraries, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Repository where the most important historical documents of the United States are held, such as the original Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Constitution and the 1297 version of the Magna Carta.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I love history. Especially American History. This is why I'm a little sad to have to give this a 3. Standing in front of the founding documents was breathtaking to say the least. That was really the only part of the visit that got my 5 going. There was supposed to be a presentation related to the founding documents. We were briskly told 5 minutes after the presentation was supposed to start that it was cancelled due to a staff meeting. Really? I guess the irony should not have been lost on me.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    202
    63
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quick Tour, very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

To be able to be inches away from the documents that shaped our country was amazing!!! Every American should see these documents!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“National Archives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was inspiring to see the actual documents from which we base our freedom and security. It was crowded while we were there so we could not spend much time really looking them over. I wish I would have brought my glasses because they are under dim light for their preservation but it made it difficult for me to see in detail.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

For me it is a very moving place to visit. To be near to the documents that the founding fathers signed is unreal. This is a must visit place for anyone who visits DC. I have been several times and it always makes me think about the times with the United States was founded, and the principles it was founded upon. Perhaps congress should spend some time getting familiar with these documents certainly would help them do their job better...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing to see the documents that started it all.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Unbelievable experience to see the founding documents of the United States. We visited in early November and there was no crowd at all. I have heard it can be extremely crowded with a long wait in the summer. Several other exhibits were very interesting as well. Right in the heart of DC. 10 minute walk to the Capitol. Must-see.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The U.S. National Archives also viewed

 

Been to The U.S. National Archives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The U.S. National Archives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The U.S. National Archives to your Saves list