We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting for money nerds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bureau of Engraving and Printing

Bureau of Engraving and Printing
14th and C sts. SW, Washington DC, DC 20228
202.874.2330
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #77 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Government Buildings, Factory Tours, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Headquartered in D.C., this is where money is printed.
Canton, Mississippi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“very interesting for money nerds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband is a former banker so this tour was top on his list for our trip to DC. We didn't get tickets beforehand so he had to get up early and go down to line up for tickets. He got there before 7am and they start giving tickets out at 8. The tour was interesting to me a little but he really enjoyed it. If you're interested in money you'll love it too. My children (8 and 5) didn't really get very excited though.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    128
    52
    28
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Money talks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

unfortunately we did not get to see a lot of the operation as the facility was down for maintenance. Tickets shouldn't have given out during scheduled downtime!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

A quick 45 minutes tour to see how money is made... Free but get your tickets early in the morning. Our 8 and 10 year old children were pleasantly surprised at how interesting the tour was -- very happy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Buck starts here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fantastic tour. We really enjoyed our time here. Make sure you get your tickets the day of in the morning. We waited till about 8:30-9:00 to get our tickets. At this time there was no line and the afternoon tours were available.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent, But Not a Must-See Attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Since we visited the Holocaust Museum next to this building, my wife and I decided to take a tour here. Although the guide provided some interesting facts, the tour was rather short and routine. It is fun to see money being printed, but beyond that there really isn't a lot to see there. I don't recommend coming to the Bureau of Engraving as your main destination, but if you have time before or after visiting the Holocaust Museum it might be worth it to spend a little bit of time there if you have free time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bureau of Engraving and Printing also viewed

 

Been to Bureau of Engraving and Printing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bureau of Engraving and Printing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.