We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Our Currency Is Made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bureau of Engraving and Printing

Bureau of Engraving and Printing
14th and C sts. SW, Washington DC, DC 20228
202.874.2330
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #77 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Government Buildings, Factory Tours, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Headquartered in D.C., this is where money is printed.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“How Our Currency Is Made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My advice is on how to get tickets. The tickets are free but are required for the 35-40 minute tours. Every year I have students competing at a national contest in Maryland, and the students and their parents have two or three days for sightseeing in Washington, DC. This year I reached the ticket dispensing booth for the Bureau of Engraving tour that is inconveniently located on Raoul Wallenberg Pl NW on the opposite side of the tour entrance on 14th and C St. The easiest access to the ticket booth is by going between the Holocaust Museum and Bureau of Engraving.
For a teacher, they gave me 20 tickets for my group, but usually they give out four per person. Withihall hour, all of the tickets were given out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    128
    52
    28
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The kids really wanted to go here and we had to be convinced, but in the end it was the adults who were more interested in the tour. The kids liked it and learned a few things, but the topic was perhaps too far removed from the lives of a 7 and 9 year old. I thought the history of US currency and the process of printing and engraving money was fascinating!
My husband went down to the BEP at 7:30AM and there was a line already forming (this was in late June). When the ticket office opened at 8AM, he had no trouble getting four tickets for that day with several choices of times to go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great view of what makes the world go round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

You need to stand in line early AM to get the free tickets for later in the day. It is worth it. This is a popular tour; you get to see the presses in action and hear about the technology and history of currency in the US. It is fun watching a $10M load of cash head to the vault. We also appreciated a one on one with a master printer in the gift shop after the tour and get hands on with how printing is done. Jose was very informative as he did a one off printing of the Capitol on an antique press! The teens loved it, too. Recommended!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolleson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Money !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was neat to see how money is made. The tour only lasts about 30. No photos are allowed and this sucked, since I love to take pictures. You get a ticket with a time in the morning (no line for us). Show up about 15 mins before your tie so you can read the information before the tour starts. Once it starts you watch a video then see how the money is made. The exit to the tour is Not the same one you entered in.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We got tickets to this through our Congressman about one month before our trip to DC. I'm so glad we did this tour as it was very interesting and held the interest of our children as well. The entire tour is about 35-40 minutes, which was the perfect length for children. It begins with a 15-20 minute movie and then another 20 minutes being led through glass corridors and watching actual bills being printed. With our tickets, we just showed up about five minutes before our ticket time and walked right on in - no waiting at all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bureau of Engraving and Printing also viewed

 

Been to Bureau of Engraving and Printing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bureau of Engraving and Printing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.