We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned ice cream parlor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Sweet Ice Cream

Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
3214 P St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-2744 (Georgetown)
202-337-0616
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 40 Ice Cream in Washington DC
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Ice Cream
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned ice cream parlor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Old school ice cream parlor in the heart of Georgetown. This was a nice cool place to sit on a really hot day!
They also have a big selection of chocolates and some good looking cookies.
The staff could be friendlier and more engaging.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Homemade Sin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great little ice cream shop. It is a local place, not a mom and pop establishment though. It is a lot more down home than B&J or Haggin Das. I got the fat free, and it tasted good. Most fat free ice cream is horrible. I really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful bittersweet chocolate ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Finally, chocolate ice cream that isn't too sweet. And the chocolate chocolate covered almonds was even better. I'm not an ice cream lover, so when I find ice cream this good I have to rave about it. Walk there and back so you'll burn off the calories. They're worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect treat for a hot day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

After wandering around Georgetown we were happy to find this place. You couldn't ask for a wider icecream selection. The Oreo & peanut butter cup flavors were great, but pralines & cream really stole the show!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best Cookies of my Life !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

A must go in DC. They have the best cookies I have ever tried ! I was three days here and I visit them every day and today I bought a lot of cookies for home ! I'll miss this delicious place !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Sweet Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Sweet Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Sweet Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.