We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The source about my own history!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of American History

National Museum of American History
Constitution Ave. NW, Between 12th and 14th Street Constitution Avenue, Washington DC, DC 20560 (Federal Triangle)
202-633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #34 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the Smithsonian museums along the Mall, this one has more than 3 million artifacts in its collection—from gowns to locomotives—that reflect and preserve a record of America’s past.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The source about my own history!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

When I was little, my mom took me there. I was amazed by the huge George Washington statue. I even saw the flag from Francis Scott Key's time. :) I also saw the Ruby Slippers from The Wizard Of Oz movie. It was crowded to get a good look, but that's to be expected, I guess. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    356
    163
    56
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Melbourne, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sort of neat, but sort of boring too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had some neat exhibits, but was really boring for the most part. Was free to enter and did not have a food court.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“1/3 of the museum is closed due to renovations - several exhibits removed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very disappointed with this visit... they have closed the entire West wing of the museum on all 3 levels in prep for some great 2015 unveiling. As a result, some exhibits were in the lobby, halls, foyers - crammed with people. In other areas there were blank podiums with a sign "tell us what you would want to see here." Um... how about SOMETHING other than a sign? I keep hearing that the Smithsonian only displays 1-2% of it's collection at any given time, why does it have empty exhibit podiums in the middle of a larger exhibit? There is a reason that the lines are all in front of the National Museum of Natural Sciences.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a great time at the National Museum of American History. I was impressed with the original Star Spangled Banner. It is somewhat hard to see, but considering it is a 200 year old flag I didn't mind the preservation techniques in place and was still impressed. I enjoyed the Julia Child exhibit and her kitchen.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
301 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“I wished it was all open !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Again , I would have given a 'Good' but couldn't go 'VG' ! Whilst it was a fascinating look at parts of Americana it was unfortunate that half the exhibits were closed at the time we visited. The war section was well done but again the Yanks forget that they had Allies in a lot of their battles !! The vehicle and transport history section and exhibit was really well done but I had to hurry the wife through the 'First Ladies' section, but fair dinkum china plate sets and dresses ??
At the end of the day it is a free exhibit and worthwhile as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Museum of American History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of American History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.