We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for all ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Geographic Society's Explorer Hall

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
National Geographic Society's Explorer Hall
17th and M Streets NW, Washington DC, DC (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)
202/857-7588
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 248 attractions in Washington DC
Type: Educational Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An interactive educational experience which includes a simulation of orbital flight and geography questions.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Interesting for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our children ages 5 -14 went to Explorers Hall reluctantly fearful of a school field trip like experience. They readily admitted that they really enjoyed both the 1001 Inventions Exhibit and the Titanic.

We started with 1001 Inventions. It started with a video that intrigued my kids and prepared them for what they would see in the exhibit. The exhibit was relatively small. We spent an hour and that enabled us to read about 80% of the exhibits and walk through all of it. The exhibit focused on muslim inventions during the "Dark Ages" and how they contributed to modern medicine, science etc... It was fascinating and enlightening.

Then we moved into the Titanic exhibit. Though the exhibit didn't have the a large selection of artifacts from the Titanic it did have lots of interactive models and demonstrations of what happened to the ship. The videos of how the Titanic was found and also how it probably broke apart were most fascinating. There is also a projection of the ship under the water on the floor as it appears today. When you walk over it, the pictures changes to how the ship looked originally...pretty neat and greatly entertained my 5 year old. We spent about an hour in this exhibit.

The museum has an extensive gift shop with many of the items that you find in the National Geographic mail order catalog.

Well worth the time and my reluctant kids thought that it was "cool"

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    0
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not so titanic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We went to see the Titanic Exhibit and also went into the samauri exhibit (the ticket allowed both). Keep in mind that the exhibit halls house rotating exhibits and change often. The Titanic exhibit was interesting - I particularly liked the Robert Ballard video clip that talked about why he got into oceanography and how he found the titanic. Did you know his real mission on behalf of the navy was to find two sunken cold war subs? The Titanic operation was a cover story to fool the russians - but it was what he was really most interested in. The artifacts were props from the titanic movie. I have seen a better Titanic exhibit when actual artifacts were on display in Boston many years ago now, but this was a perfect size to introduce the topic to my 9 year old daughter. I understand the exhibit is extended until Sept 2012.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Not as informative as expected. Saw the Titanic and Samurai exhibit. $8.00/person.Large cats exhibit as well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
167 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great special exhibits always at NatGeo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I recently went to another special exhibit: The Anglo Saxon Hoard, and was totally delighted with the amount of explanation and items to see. They also had a rendition of an Anglo Saxon village which helped support the overall exhibit. This had a docent who was willing to discuss the items. She also invited us to another event by the Society for Creative Anachronism which featured many of the crafts and skills and items that Anglo Saxons would have used. Very very interesting to learn about 7th century "English" life. I've also visited other special exhibits here, such as on Utzi, the mummified man and on a mummified South American sacrificial "victim" (whose name escapes me). In both these instances, lots of good detail and contextual explanation. Kudos to NatGeo for teaching me new things!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Easy to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Had two every interesting a very different exhibits while we were there. The hord and grossology. Interesting and fun.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Geographic Society's Explorer Hall also viewed

 

Been to National Geographic Society's Explorer Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Geographic Society's Explorer Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Geographic Society's Explorer Hall to your Saves list