We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a tissue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
100 Raoul Wallenberg Plaza SW, Washington DC, DC 20024 (National Mall)
202-488-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$78*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley...
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A memorial and museum detailing the rise of Hitler's Germany and the horrors of World War II.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bring a tissue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just about the saddest museum I've ever been to. There was an exhibit with the actual gates to a concentration camp and lots of other artifacts that were chilling to see. Not what I would call fun but a must see in DC and extremely educational

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,572
    776
    212
    63
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I've been here twice & I've learned many new things from each visit. My children remember it from visiting many years ago. Take the time to visit this & spend as much time reading while you're here.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Museum is well organized and is a very moving. Aside from the permanant exhibit which takes about 2 hours to go through there are many other displays to see. When we were there, there were also holocaust survivors there answering questions and telling their personal story.

There is really no parking available near the museum other than street parking with a 2 hour limit, so public tranportation is the way to go. Reservations canbe booked a few week in advance on line, or you will be given a start time when you get there; ours was about 90 minutes after we arrived.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Family Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Caveat - We did not visit the permanent exhibition.

First visit with my tween daughters and was not too sure what to expect. We did not go into the permanent exhibit. We did however, visit a number of other exhibits and were thoroughly engaged for nearly three hours.

Daniel's Story was excellent. This exhibit allowed the kids to follow a young man through his experience of the holocaust, from the Nazi occupation through the liberation of Berlin - from a child's perspective.

We also visited the Children's Tile Wall.

Our favorite part of the museum and far and away the most sensational experience for us was the exhibit "Some Were Neighbors." We were riveted by the video accounts of survivors peppered throughout the exhibit. We went from tears of sorrow to elation as we followed the stories of survivors. This also allowed the girls to apply the events to their own current experiences - even on a small level - like speaking up about bullying. It was a wonderful and educational exhibit.

We will definitely be visiting again and hope to see the permanent exhibit on our next trip.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sobering, but terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Not a 'fun' visit, but extremely interesting and well done. Very thoughtfully laid out, a ton of background setting up how it all came about and information disclosed in very digestible fashion. Great visuals and artifacts. a must see for everyone.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Holocaust Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to United States Holocaust Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.