We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comprehensive & Moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
100 Raoul Wallenberg Plaza SW, Washington DC, DC 20024 (National Mall)
202-488-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$78*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley...
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A memorial and museum detailing the rise of Hitler's Germany and the horrors of World War II.
Sherman Oaks, CA., U.S.A.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comprehensive & Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a must-visit stop in D.C. for everyone who believes in human dignity. Although several other communities have Holocaust Memorial collections, this Museum has no parallel.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,578
    778
    212
    63
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place really hits home, it is such a sad time in the world's history and this museum really gives some good understanding into it. Some of it was had to even look at, let alone know that this really happened.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Emotional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I will definitely return to this museum in the future!

This was a very emotional experience for me...I cried while I was touring the museum. This museum definitely gives a very emotional account of the atrocities of the holocaust! I left with a new view of humanity and I appreciate the education I received the short time I was there!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Humbling experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of the museums one has to have a stomach for holcaust. It is heart wrenching to go through the displays and the storires. The shoes left behind remind of a human being behind each of those. Must see to know how fortunate we are today to live in a word with more freedom

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Terrible, Important Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife still refuses to go -- Yad Vashem was enough, she has told me - I have gone. The Holocaust Memorials around the world serve a vital function - they are there to insure people, society, does not forget. This is true for this Memorial. It is a terrible place for all it shares, starting with a ride in an elevator made out to be a rail car. There is nothing more to say about the interior - the only thing you need to decide is whether to go or not, and if you decide to go, it is something you will never forget. Or should never forget.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Holocaust Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to United States Holocaust Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.